Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

4.3.6.3 TY Authorized Activities

ISSUE DATE: 10/2017

Transition Year (TY) child care can be authorized for:

  • · Job Search.
  • · Education.
  • · Employment.
  • · Any combination of the above.
  • Authorize no more than 240 hours of job search per calendar year.

    See Chapter 4.3.6.6 (Transition Year students) for policies regarding authorizing TY for education.

    To authorize TY to cover employment hours, require employment of at least an average of 20 hours per week and receipt of at least the applicable minimum wage for all hours worked. If the compensation is other than an hourly wage, divide the earned income by the number of hours worked to determine if this requirement is met.

    If a full-time student also requests child care assistance for employment hours, require employment of at least an average of 10 hours per week and receipt of at least the applicable minimum wage for all hours worked. The training or education may or may not be approved by the county. The full-time student status needs to be verified. A full time student retains full time status during school breaks, including summers if the student is expected to return to school full time after the break.

    If a student is not working or does not want child care assistance for the hours they are working, there is no minimum work requirement.

    Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, subd. 20

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 10/20/17 1:23 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 10/20/17 1:23 PM