If a family completes the Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement DHS-2338 (PDF) and claims good cause, the family does not need to complete the Referral to Support and Collections DHS-3163B (PDF) and the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) worker does not need to wait to open child care until good cause is approved. The county’s Good Cause committee will approve or deny the family’s good cause claim. If the family’s good cause claim is denied, the CCAP worker should send the family theReferral to Support and Collections (DHS-3163B). If the family does not return the forms and CCAP eligibility has already been approved, CCAP should remain open until the family’s next redetermination.
If a family’s good cause claim is approved it applies to all programs (eg. CCAP, MFIP, health care) for 12 months.
If a new CCAP application is submitted and the family has an approved good cause claim that was initiated for any program and was approved during the past 12 months, a new Client Statement of Good Cause does not need to be completed.
If a new CCAP application is submitted more than 12 months past the last good cause approval, a new Client Statement of Good Cause should be completed.
For active CCAP cases where good cause has been approved and a good cause review exemption has not been granted, MEC2 will send the CCAP worker an alert 30 days prior to the next good cause review date. The worker must send the Notice of Child Support Good Cause Redetermination DHS-3630 (PDF) to the family.
When a good cause review exemption is granted, the Notice of Child Support Good Cause Redetermination (DHS-3630) is not sent to the family. Instead, at the beginning of the biweekly period in which the anniversary occurs, MEC2 will send the CCAP worker an alert to send a Notice of Child Support Good Cause Approval DHS-3629 (PDF). The Notice of Child Support Good Cause Approval must be sent manually by the worker.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.09, ubd. 1
Minnesota Statutes 256.741