Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

6.3 Income Limits

ISSUE DATE: 10/2017

Use annual gross income after allowable deductions to determine eligibility. Use the same income to determine copayment amount. See Chapter 6.21 (Family copayment) for current income limits and copayment amounts.

Applicants

Compare an MFIP family’s income to 67% of the State Median Income (SMI). If income exceeds 67% of the State Median Income (SMI) for their household size, the family is not eligible for child care assistance.

For all other applicant families, compare income to 47% of SMI. See Chapter 6.21 (Family copayment).

Transition Year child care assistance

If there is no break in eligibility between receiving MFIP child care assistance and Transition Year (TY) child care assistance, compare a TY family’s income to 67% of SMI.

If there is a break in eligibility between MFIP and TY child care assistance, compare a TY family’s income to 47% of SMI. If annual income exceeds 47% of SMI the family is not eligible for child care assistance.

If the family did not receive MFIP child care assistance and applied during their transition year, and their annual income exceeds 47% of SMI, the family is not eligible for child care assistance.

Participant – During the 12 month eligibility period

Once determined eligible, when annual income exceeds 85% of SMI during the family’s 12 month eligibility period, the family is ineligible.

Participant – At redetermination

At redetermination, a family’s annual income cannot exceed 67% of SMI.

Legal authority

Minnesota Statutes 119B.025
Minnesota Statutes 119B.09
Minnesota Statutes 119B.011
Minnesota Rules 3400.0170

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 10/16/17 2:24 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 10/16/17 2:24 PM