Families are Schedule Reporters when meeting at least one of the following criteria:
A. A parent in the family is employed by any child care center that is licensed by the Department of Human Services;
I. Parents employed at tribally licensed child care centers or license-exempt centers do not meet this criteria.
II. A “center employee” is any person who works in or for the center. This includes paid or unpaid staff and contract or temporary employees.
B. At least one child in the family is authorized for care with a legal nonlicensed provider;
I. A child with a Service Authorization using an LNL provider who cares for children in their own home or in the child’s home meets this criteria. See Chapter 11.9 (Legal Non-Licensed (LNL) Providers).
II. A child using a license-exempt center does not meet this criteria (unless they are also authorized with an LNL provider).
III. A child using an unlicensed provider without a Service Authorization does not meet this criteria.
C. At least one child in the family is authorized for care with more than one provider. There are some scenarios that do not meet this criteria:
I. If each child in the family has a Service Authorization with only one provider (regardless of whether the same provider is used for all children in the family), the family does not meet this criteria.
II. A child who is authorized for CCAP with only one provider but also uses another non-CCAP provider (such as a family member or friend not paid by CCAP), does not meet this criteria.
III. A child switching providers (they stop attending one provider and begin attending another provider with no overlap), does not meet this criteria.
IV. A child who has a Service Authorization with one provider but also occasionally uses a back-up provider. A back-up provider is not continuously used and is only paid during days/times when the child’s primary provider is not being paid. A child whose use of a backup provider meets this description does not meet this criteria. Examples of a back-up provider include:
- A child using a single back-up provider during school breaks and school release days
- A child using a single back-up provider on days when their primary provider is closed due to vacation, sickness or weather.
D. A parent in the family is employed by a high-risk medical providers. DHS will provide additional information about identifying these employers.
For Schedule Reporters, care must be authorized and scheduled with a provider based on the applicant's or participant's verified activity schedule. These families have more reporting requirements so that their care authorizations can be adjusted as needed.
Families that do not fall into one of the criteria above are 12 Month Reporters. They are subject to the minimum reporting standards for all families in Chapter 8.3 (Reporting requirements). Their child care hours cannot be reduced during their 12 month eligibility period except for certain reasons.
· For eligibility impacts, see Chapter 8.1.9 (Changes in activity).
· For authorization impacts, see Chapter 9.12 (Authorization changes during the 12 month eligibility period).
· For verification impacts, see Chapter 7.4 (Verification – 12 month eligibility period).
Minnesota Statutes 119B.025
Minnesota Statutes 119B.095
Report/Rate this page