Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

9.18 Authorized Hours - Job Search

ISSUE DATE: 03/2013

Job search activities include locating, contacting, preparing for interviews and interviewing with potential employers, and travel time associated with these activities.

For BSF, TY, TYE and MFIP/DWP participants without an approved Employment Plan, authorize child care for job search or related activities up to a maximum of 240 hours per calendar year, not to exceed 120 hours per child every 2 weeks. At the option of the individual in job search and with prior approval from your agency, you may authorize child care assistance less than full time.

MFIP or DWP participants with an approved Employment Plan are exempt from the 240 hours per calendar year maximum. Authorize care according to the approved Employment Plan.

Employed BSF, TY, TYE and MFIP/DWP participants who do not have job search included in an approved Employment Plan can be authorized for up to 240 hours per calendar year, in addition to hours authorized for work. Check with the ES provider to determine if this activity could be added to the approved plan. If not, authorize job search hours according to the information stated above.

Job search hours should be counted using only the hours of child care authorized for the job search activity (including travel time, if needed). For example, if the parent is authorized for six hours per day of child care for the job search activity and the provider charges a daily rate, count only six hours of job search toward the 240 hours allowed per year.

If the amount of child care authorized is being reduced due to a decrease in the number of hours the parent is job searching, a 15 day notice is required. During the notice period, count only the hours the parent is job searching toward the 240 hours allowed per year. For example, if 50 hours of care was previously authorized and care is being decreased to 20 hours, pay the 50 hours of care through the required notice period. Count the 20 hours used for job search toward the 240 hours allowed per year.

Counties must identify how child care assistance for job search outside an approved Employment Plan is authorized in their County Child Care Plan. Counties identify whether they verify the actual numbers of hours spent on job search. In addition, counties must identify whether they authorize:

The number of hours of job search requested by the participant,

OR

A standard number of hours of job search that are determined by the county



LEGAL AUTHORITY

Minnesota Statutes 119B.10 Subd.1
Minnesota Rules 3400.0040 Subp.15a

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 1/27/14 9:06 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 1/27/14 9:06 AM