Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

9.30 Higher Rates for Quality - Parent Aware Rated Providers

ISSUE DATE: 12/2016

Highly-Rated child care and early education programs participating in Parent Aware Ratings are eligible for higher rates for quality:

  • · Providers with a Three-Star Parent Aware Rating are eligible for up to 15 percent above the standard maximum rate, not to exceed the provider charge.
  • · Providers with a Four-Star Parent Aware Rating are eligible for up to 20 percent above the standard maximum rate, not to exceed the provider charge.
  • Providers may be accredited by an approved organization or hold an approved credential and have a Three- or Four-Star Parent Aware Rating. See Chapter 9.27 (Higher Rates for Quality – Accreditation/ Credential).

  • · Three-Star Parent Aware Rated providers that hold a approved accreditation/credential are eligible for up to 15 percent above the standard maximum rate, not to exceed the provider charge.
  • · Four-Star Parent Aware Rated providers that hold an approved accreditation/credential are eligible for up to 20 percent above the standard maximum rate, not to exceed the provider charge.
  • Parent Aware Ratings is Minnesota’s Child Care Quality Rating and Improvement System. For more information about Parent Aware, visit the www.parentaware.org or call (888) 291-981.

    Effective Date of Higher Rates For Quality

    Department of Human Services staff is responsible for entering and updating Parent Aware Ratings in MEC2. County and tribal agencies are not responsible for entering or updating Parent Aware Ratings. Counties and tribes do not need to obtain verification of a provider’s Parent Aware Rating. If a provider reports that they have a Parent Aware Rating that is not reflected in MEC², contact your policy liaison for assistance.

    For providers that obtain a Three- or Four-Star Parent Aware Rating, the effective date of the higher rate is the Monday following the week that the Parent Aware Rating is entered by DHS.

    Legal Authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.13, Subd. 3b

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 12/7/16 11:16 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 12/7/16 11:16 AM