Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

11.6 License Exempt Centers

ISSUE DATE: 09/2017

License exempt centers that can be registered as CCAP providers

Require a license exempt center to register with your agency. Register each license exempt program site separately. A site may operate programs that fall under different license exemptions. Register each of these programs separately. See Chapter 11.12 (Provider Registration).

License exempt centers that can be registered as CCAP providers include:

  • · Recreation programs for children operated or approved by a park and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities.
  • · Programs operated by a school, YMCA, YWCA or Jewish Community Center (JCC) whose primary purpose is to provide child care or services to school age children.
  • · Programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older.
  • · Camps licensed by the Department of Health under Minnesota Rules, chapter 4630.
  • · Head Start and nonresidential programs that operate for less than 45 days in a calendar year.
  • · Programs for children such as scouting, boys and girls clubs, sports and art programs and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12 month period.
  • · A program serving only children who are age 33 months or older, that is operated by a nonpublic school, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no more than 20 children at any one time, and that is accredited by:
  • I. an accrediting agency that is formally recognized by the commissioner of education as a nonpublic school accrediting organization; or
  • II. an accrediting agency that requires background studies and that receives and investigates complaints about the services provided.
  • Pay license exempt centers at the same rate as licensed centers in the same age category.

    Certified license exempt centers

    The Minnesota Department of Human Services has the authority to certify license exempt centers. When a license exempt center is certified, it means that the center meets the federal requirements for receiving child care assistance. The Department of Human Services will notify license exempt centers and the county agency when individual centers need to become certified. Do not require a license exempt center to be certified until the department tells you that the center must be certified to receive future child care assistance payments.

    Centers not licensed by the state of Minnesota Department of Human Services

    Programs licensed by another agency such as a tribal nation or another state should be registered as a licensed program. See Chapter 11.3 (Licensed Child Care Providers).

    License exempt centers that cannot be registered as CCAP providers

    License exempt centers operated by nonprofits for school age students

    License exempt centers operated by a nonprofit organization that serve youth in kindergarten through grade 12, provide structured, supervised youth development activities, and have learning opportunities take place before or after school, on weekends, or during the summer or other seasonal breaks in the school calendar, are exempt from licensure under Minnesota Statutes 245A.03, subdivision 2 (a) (27). Programs that are exempt from licensure under this law are not eligible to receive payment for services from the Child Care Assistance Program unless they become licensed.

    Centers serving infants and toddlers

    Programs serving infants and toddlers may need to be licensed. Contact your policy specialist if a provider submits a registration for a license exempt program that serves infants and toddlers.

    Non-licensed programs providing non-child care services

    Programs providing services to children and youth that are not licensed or exempt from licensing under Minnesota Statute 245A.03 are not providing child care services. Programs not providing child care services are not eligible to receive payment from the Child Care Assistance Program. These programs include private programs offering K-12 education services as defined under Minnesota Statutes 120-129C.

    Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 245A.03, Subd. 2
    Minnesota Statutes 245G
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 19

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 8/30/17 9:10 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 8/30/17 9:10 AM