Report immediately—no more than 24 hours—after receiving a complaint from a family concerning the health or safety of children under the care of a legal nonlicensed (LNL) provider.
Report the complaint to:
Refer to Minnesota Statutes section 626.556 for more specific information, definitions and procedures regarding alleged maltreatment.
If the allegations of child maltreatment are substantiated, keep a record of the complaint for 10 years.
If the other types of allegations are substantiated, keep a record of the complaint for four years.
When you are notified that a complaint has been substantiated, determine:
If the substantiated situation meets one of these criteria, do not pay child care assistance to that provider unless the conditions underlying the complaint have been corrected. Close the provider’s registration. See Chapter 12.6.9 (Termination Notices – Provider).
Minnesota Statute 626.556
Minnesota Statute 119B.13, Subd 6(d)
Minnesota Rules 3400.0140 Subp. 6Report/Rate this page