Before their initial registration, legal nonlicensed providers (LNL) must provide documentation of First Aid and CPR training instruction that includes CPR techniques for infants and children. Online components of First Aid and CPR training may qualify, except for the practical portion of CPR, which is required to be taken in person. See Minnesota Statutes 245A.50 for further information. If the provider provides documentation that the CPR training that they completed does not include pediatric CPR, they must document that they have completed instruction in pediatric CPR by their next renewal. Agencies should consult with agency licensing staff about how to determine valid training for First Aid and CPR training requirements.
The training must have been provided by individuals approved to provide such training. Agencies should align standards for acceptable training with standards used for approving licensed family child care providers First Aid and CPR training. The training must be effective as of the date the provider registration is approved. See Chapter 11.12 (Provider Registration).
Before issuing a Service Authorization for a child under 5 years old, confirm that the legal nonlicensed provider has taken the following training:
Training requirements at a provider’s reauthorization vary depending on if the provider is serving children who are not related to them. Related means the provider is the child’s sibling, grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, or uncle of the child, based on blood relationship, marriage or court decree.
Families should report on the child care application or redetermination form if the provider is related or not related. Agencies should assume the provider is not related unless the family informs the agency that they are related.
Upon each reauthorization after the initial registration, if a provider still serves children receiving CCAP, the provider must take and provide proof of an additional eight hours of training in topics approved by the Achieve: Minnesota Center for Professional Development Registry.
First Aid and CPR courses may be counted in the additional eight hours of training but are not required. All courses offered by the Child Care Aware agencies listed on Develop qualify toward the eight hours. Child Care Aware agencies coordinate and offer training approved by the Registry. Their staff can help providers find training.
If the provider cares for at least one child receiving child care assistance who is not related to the provider, the provider must complete the Supervising for Safety – Legal Nonlicensed course offered through Child Care Aware. The course must be completed within 90 days of caring for an unrelated child. This course includes the Sudden Unexpected Infant Death Syndrome (SUIDS) and Abusive Head Trauma (AHT) training requirements.If orientation training is not completed
If the Supervising for Safety – Legal Nonlicensed course is not completed within 90 days of issuing a Service Authorization for an unrelated child, care for any unrelated children must end. Agencies must track the end of the 90-day period and end Service Authorizations for unrelated children. Once the course is completed, Service Authorizations can be approved back to the course completion date. Service Authorizations for related children are not impacted by the 90-day training requirement.Training at reauthorization
Upon each reauthorization after the initial registration, if a provider still provides care for unrelated children receiving CCAP they must provide proof of training in:
Unrelated legal nonlicensed providers must also demonstrate compliance with health and safety requirements through an annual monitoring visit. See Chapter 11.9.18 (Legal nonlicensed providers – Annual monitoring).
Legal nonlicensed providers must verify all required training.
To show they have completed required training, all legal nonlicensed providers must either:
Legal nonlicensed providers will be asked to submit proof of training with either form but can contact the department for help if they have taken training through Develop but do not have proof.
Federal Child Care and Development Fund, 45 C.F.R. Part 98
Minnesota Statutes 119B.125