Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

11.24 Provider Reauthorization

ISSUE DATE: 09/2017

Counties must complete the registration process described in Chapter 11.12 (Provider Registration) at each reauthorization.

Reauthorize all providers at least every 2 years.

Legal non-licensed (LNL) providers

Legal nonlicensed providers need to submit documentation of training before being reauthorized. See Chapter 11.9.9 (Legal Non-licensed Providers – Training Requirements).

Perform a background study at each reauthorization on:

  • · The provider and every member of the provider’s household who is age 13 and older.
  • · Each household member age 10-12 living in the household where the provider services will be provided when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined under MN Statutes 245C.02, subd. 15.
  • · An individual who, without providing direct contact services in the LNL program may have unsupervised access to children receiving services from the provider, when the commissioner has reasonable cause.
  • In addition to performing background studies at each reauthorization, there are additional times when background studies are required. In the situations listed below, a background study only needs to be performed for the individual(s) who have not had a background study within the last two years. Background studies must be performed when:

  • · An individual has reached age 10 but is not yet 13 and is living in the household where the Legal Nonlicensed childcare will be provided, when the county has reasonable cause as defined under MN Statutes 245C.02, subd. 15.
  • · A current household member becomes 13 years of age since the last authorization.
  • · A person age 13 or older joins the household since the last authorization.
  • · You believe a household member has a factor that prevents the provider from being authorized.
  • Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.125, Subd. 1 & 2

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 8/30/17 9:13 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 8/30/17 9:13 AM