Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Combined Manual
Advanced Search|  

APPEAL REQUESTS

ISSUE DATE: 12/2014

Refer all appeal requests to the State Appeals Office within 5 days of receiving the request. Do this regardless of when you receive the request, and regardless of the client's reason for making a late appeal request. The Appeals Office will convene a hearing and decide the issue of timeliness or good cause at that time. Also see 0027.15 (Continuation of Benefits).

For written appeals, clients may use the Appeal to State Agency (DHS-0033) (PDF) or may send a letter indicating disagreement with the county agency's decision.

The time period for requesting an appeal when overpayments are established through the Judgment by Operation of Law (JOL) process is 90 days after the notice of overpayment is received by certified mail or personal service. See 0025.21.07 (JOL - Establishing Claims).


MFIP, DWP:

People must request an appeal hearing in writing and state what county agency action they are appealing.

People must request the appeal hearing no more than:

30 days after getting an MFIP Notice of Intent to Sanction (DHS-3175) (PDF). See 0028.30 (Sanctions for Failure to Comply - Cash).

OR

30 days after getting the notice of proposed action, unless they show good cause for not making a request within that time. If they show good cause, they may appeal up to 90 days after getting the notice.



SNAP:

People may request an appeal hearing orally or in writing. They must state what county agency action they are appealing.

People may appeal any agency action or benefits lost in the last 90 days. They may appeal a denial of restoration of lost benefits within the past year, and may appeal their benefit level at any time during a current certification period.


MSA, GA, GRH:

People must request an appeal hearing in writing and state what county agency action they are appealing.

They must request the appeal hearing within 30 days of receiving a notice of proposed action, or show good cause for not requesting within that time. People may file an appeal up to 90 days after receiving the notice of proposed action if they show good cause for not filing within 30 days.

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 4/6/15 2:57 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 4/6/15 2:57 PM