Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Combined Manual
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  


ISSUE DATE: 12/2017

The Social Security Administration operates the Retirement, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (RSDI) program. RSDI provides a monthly income to retired people, survivors or dependents of insured people, and people with disabilities. Benefits are based on earned employment credits.

The disability part of the RSDI program is also known as Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI or SSD).

Refer people who might be eligible to their local Social Security Administration office to apply for RSDI.

Some people must apply for RSDI to be eligible for cash or medical assistance. See 0012.12 (Applying for Other Benefits). Also see the Minnesota Health Care Programs Eligibility Policy Manual.

Provide potentially eligible clients and clients who are referred to SSA with the SSA toll-free telephone number. The toll-free number is 1-800-772-1213.

For information on Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) resources and an SSI advocates list, see the Employment Services Manual Appendix G (Resources for Americans with Disabilities (ADA). Also see the Social Security Advocacy Directory for a list of all contracted DHS agencies throughout the state who assist individuals applying for federal disability programs.

For additional information, also see Disability Benefits 101.

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 12/1/17 7:10 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 12/1/17 7:10 AM