Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services PCA Manual
Advanced Search|  

Personal Care Assistance (PCA)

Eligibility for PCA services

Page posted: 11/4/13

Page reviewed:

Page updated:

Legal authority

42 C.F.R. 440.167, Minn. Stat. §256B.0651 and Minn. Stat. §256B.0659

Program eligibility

PCA services are available to persons covered by:

  • • Medical assistance (MA)
  • • MinnesotaCare expanded benefit set (pregnant women and children under age 21)
  • PCA services are not covered for:

  • • Non-pregnant adults enrolled in MinnesotaCare
  • Recipient eligibility

    Persons eligible for one of the above programs must meet the following criteria to qualify for PCA services:

  • • Able to identify their needs
  • • Able to direct and evaluate PCA task accomplishment
  • • Able to provide for their health and safety or have a responsible party that is able to do so
  • • Have a service plan developed with the county public health nurse that specifies the PCA services needed
  • • Have a stable medical condition
  • • Have an approved service agreement for PCA services from the Minnesota Department of Human Services
  • • Live in their own home residence which is NOT a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility, health facility licensed by the Minnesota Department of Health or foster care setting licensed for more than four residents
  • • Need PCA services to live in the community
  • In addition, PCA services may only be provided when determined medically necessary through the assessment process.

    Waivers and


    PCA services are available to persons enrolled in the following programs:

  • • Alternative Care (AC) Program
  • • Brain Injury (BI) Waiver
  • • Community Alternative to Care (CAC) Waiver
  • • Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) Waiver
  • • Developmental Disabilities (DD) Waiver
  • • Elderly Waiver (EW)
  • Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 8/4/16 3:09 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 8/4/16 3:09 PM