Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) Waiver

Page posted: 10/1/03

Page reviewed: 12/22/10

Page updated: 7/1/18

Legal authority

Federally approved CADI Waiver Plan, Minn. Stat. §256B.49


Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) Waiver: Home and community-based services necessary as an alternative to institutionalization that promote the optimal health, independence, safety and integration of a person who would otherwise require the level of care provided in a nursing facility.


To be eligible for the CADI Waiver, a person must choose the CADI Waiver and meet all of the following criteria:

1. Eligible for Medical Assistance (MA)
2. Certified disabled by Social Security or the State Medical Review Team (SMRT) process
3. Under age 65 at time of opening to the waiver
4. Determined by the case manager/service coordinator to need nursing facility level of care
5. Has an assessed need for supports and services over and above those available through the MA State plan.

Nursing facility level of care criteria

To meet the requirements for a nursing facility level of care, a person must demonstrate the need for assistance because of one or more of the following:

  • • Cognitive or behavioral condition
  • • Existence of complicating conditions
  • • Frailty or vulnerability
  • • Functional limitation
  • • Need for complex care management
  • • Need for restorative and rehabilitative or other special treatment
  • • Unstable health.
  • Covered services

    The following services are covered under the CADI Waiver. For a service-specific policy page, select a service from the list:

  • 24-hour emergency assistance
  • Adult companion services
  • Adult day services (includes family adult day services)
  • Adult day services bath
  • Behavioral support
  • Caregiver living expenses
  • Case management
  • Case management aide
  • Chore services
  • Crisis respite
  • Consumer directed community supports (CDCS)
  • Customized living
  • Customized living 24-hour
  • Employment development services
  • Employment exploration services
  • Employment support services
  • Environmental accessibility adaptations
  • Extended home care services
  • Family training and counseling
  • Foster care
  • Home-delivered meals
  • Homemaker
  • Housing access coordination
  • Independent living skills (ILS) training
  • Individualized home supports
  • In-home family supports
  • Night supervision services
  • Personal support
  • Prevocational services
  • Remote support – Individualized home supports and supported living services for adults in own home
  • Residential care services
  • Respite
  • Specialist services
  • Specialized equipment and supplies (includes personal emergency response systems [PERS])
  • Supported employment services
  • Transitional services
  • Transportation.
  • Local waiver program administration

    Local county or tribal administration acting as agents for the state Medicaid agency and DHS have many responsibilities. See the state and county/tribal responsibilities for waiver management section on CBSM – Waiver programs overview.

    Waiver forms

    For a comparison grid of forms applicable across and/or specific to waiver programs, see CBSM – Required waiver forms.

    Process and procedure

    Additional resources

    CBSM – CADI Waiver waiting list guide
    CBSM – Waiver/AC provider enrollment and standards

    CBSM – Waiver general process and procedures (BI, CAC, CADI, DD)

    CBSM – Waiver programs overview

    CBSM – Waiver rates and billing
    Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) Waiver brochure, DHS-2826 (PDF)

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2019 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 10/11/18 3:38 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 10/11/18 3:38 PM