Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

Developmental Disabilities (DD) Waiver

Page posted: 11/29/04

Page reviewed: 5/6/13

Page updated: 7/1/18

Legal authority

Federally approved DD Waiver Plan, Minn. Stat. §252.27, Minn. Stat. §256B.092, Minn. R. 9525.0004 to 9525.0036, 42 CFR 483.440


Developmental Disabilities (DD) Waiver: Home and community-based services necessary as an alternative to institutionalization that promote the optimal health, independence, safety and integration of a person who meets the waiver eligibility criteria and who would require the level of care provided in an Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (ICF/DD).


To be eligible for the DD Waiver, a person must choose the DD Waiver and meet all of the following criteria:

1. Eligible for Medical Assistance (MA) based on a disability diagnosis
2. Have a developmental disability or a related condition as defined in Minn. R. 9525.0016, subp. 2
3. Determined by the case manager/service coordinator to meet the ICF/DD level of care criteria
4. Require daily interventions, daily service needs and a 24-hour plan of care that is specified in the community support plan
5. Assessed to need a residential habilitation service that must be included in the person’s community support plan
6. Have made an informed choice of waiver services instead of ICF/DD services
7. Have an assessed need for supports and services over and above those available through the MA State Plan.

ICF/DD level of care criteria

To meet the requirements for an ICF/DD level of care, a person must meet all of the following:

  • • In need of continuous active treatment
  • • Have a diagnosis of developmental disability or a related condition
  • • Require a 24-hour plan of care
  • • Require aggressive and consistent training due to an inability to apply skills learned in one environment to a new environment.
  • Covered services

    The following services are covered under the DD Waiver. For a service-specific policy page, select a service from the list:

  • 24-hour emergency assistance (includes personal emergency response systems [PERS])
  • Adult day services (includes family adult day services)
  • Adult day services bath
  • Assistive technology
  • Caregiver living expenses
  • Case management/service coordination
  • Case management aide
  • Chore services
  • Consumer directed community supports (CDCS)
  • Crisis respite
  • Day training and habilitation
  • Employment development services
  • Employment exploration services
  • Employment support services
  • Environmental accessibility adaptations
  • Extended personal care assistance
  • Family adult day services
  • Family training and counseling
  • Home-delivered meals
  • Homemaker
  • Housing access coordination
  • Night supervision
  • Personal support
  • Remote support – Individualized home supports and supported living services for adults in own home
  • Residential habilitation (in-home family support, supported living services)
  • Respite
  • Specialist services
  • Supported employment services
  • Transitional services
  • Transportation.
  • Secondary information

    Minnesota Rules require that services and supports be designed and delivered consistent with Rule 185 case management goals. For more information, see CBSM – Rule 185 case management.

    DHS does not reimburse short-term admission to an ICF/DD from the DD Waiver as respite care.

    Local waiver administration

    Local county or tribal administration acting as agents for the state Medicaid agency and DHS have many responsibilities. See the state and county/tribal responsibilities for waiver management section on CBSM – Waiver programs overview.

    Waiver forms

    For a comparison grid of forms applicable across and/or specific to waiver programs, see CBSM – Required waiver forms.

    Process and procedure

    Additional resources

    Case Manager’s Guide to Determining ICF/DD Level of Care for ICF/DD and DD Waiver Services, DHS-4147A (PDF)
    CBSM – DD Waiver waiting list guide

    CBSM – Waiver/AC provider enrollment and standards

    CBSM – Waiver general process and procedures (BI, CAC, CADI, DD)

    CBSM – Waiver programs overview

    CBSM – Waiver rates and billing
    DD Screening Document Codebook
    Developmental Disabilities (DD) Waiver Program brochure, DHS-4849 (PDF)

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2019 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 7/1/18 12:01 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 7/1/18 12:01 AM