Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
Advanced Search|  

Adult Protection

Page posted: 07/23/04

Page reviewed: 05/27/10

Page updated: 5/27/10

Legal Authority

Minn. Stat. §626.557 Vulnerable Adult Act and Minn. Stat. §626.5572 Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable adults

Definition

Common Entry Point (CEP): Every county has a common entry point to take reports of suspected abuse and maltreatment of vulnerable adults (VA). The common entry point is available 24 hours a day.

Mandated Reporter: A professional who is required to report suspected or known cases of VA maltreatment to the Common Entry Point (CEP).

Vulnerable adult (VA): A person 18 years of age or older who is a resident of facility, receives services from a licensed provider or has an impairment that makes them unable to meet basic needs and protect themselves from harm.

Vulnerable Adult Act

There are three types of maltreatment:

  • • Abuse - physical, emotional or sexual
  • • Neglect - caregiver neglect or self neglect
  • • Financial exploitation
  • Adult protection services

    Adult protection services work to stop the maltreatment of Minnesota's most vulnerable adults and protect them from further maltreatment.

    Detecting maltreatment can be a challenge because the vulnerable adult:

  • • May not be able to convey what happened
  • • May be deemed an unreliable witness
  • The Minnesota Vulnerable Adult Act includes general and specific assistance on adult protection issues related to the following:

  • • Citizens
  • • Local and state agencies
  • • Providers
  • Related Policies

    Minnesota law requires those who work with vulnerable adults to report incidents of abuse, neglect or financial exploitation to the Common Entry Point (CEP). The CEP is the county entity, usually social services, responsible for collecting maltreatment reports.

    For more information on adult protection and mandated reporting, see the following:

  • Guidelines to the Investigation of Vulnerable Adult Maltreatment, DHS-6917 (PDF) (policy and procedure manual for county staff who perform the common entry point function)
  • Ombudsman services
  • Vulnerable adults targeted case management
  • Training

    Reporting maltreatment of vulnerable adults training is free and takes about an hour. The course introduces you to:

  • • Common Entry Point
  • • Definition of maltreatment
  • • Vulnerable adult law
  • • Who are mandated reports
  • Access the training

    DHS and county employees

    Go to TrainLink to register for the online course. Please see the

    Vulnerable Adult Mandated Reporting On-line Training flier (PDF) for instructions.

    Providers, health care professionals and other interested parties

    The course also is available without registration. Go to Vulnerable Adults Mandated Reporting training to take the course for free.

    Additional Resources

    Help Protect People who are Frail or Vulnerable Brochure, DHS-2754 (PDF)
    Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities

    Older Minnesotans: Know Your Rights About Services, DHS-4134 (PDF)

    Vulnerable Adults Statewide Common Entry Point contact list (.DOC)

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 4/16/14 11:11 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 4/16/14 11:11 AM