|About DHS||Aging||Partners & Providers||Children||Disabilities||Economic Supports||Health Care||Publications||Licensing|
What’s new for: Licensing information
Emergency planning documents now available for child care providers
The Minnesota Department of Human Services, in partnership with child care providers, parents and guardians, emergency managers, counties, and child advocacy organizations, developed two emergency planning resources to assist families, child care providers, counties, and state agencies prepare for and respond to emergencies in a way that prioritizes the health and safety of children. Learn more about emergency preparedness and these resources in these Frequently Asked Questions (PDF).
Keeping Kids Safe (PDF) is a tool to help child care programs prepare for disasters and emergencies, such as fire, floods, severe weather, and violent incidents. This resource includes best practices for emergency preparedness and a template to help providers voluntarily create their own “emergency preparedness plan.”
Minnesota’s Statewide Child Care Emergency Plan (PDF) outlines Minnesota’s statewide child care emergency plan and addresses the roles and responsibilities for coordination, communication, and support in the event of a disaster or emergency. The goal of this document is to be a tool for all parties involved with the care of children and the management of emergencies.
New Q and A feature added to website for family child care providers
A new page on the Minnesota Department of Human Services website provides family child care providers the opportunity to ask the department questions about licensed family child care. Family child care providers will submit their questions using the website page and DHS will consult with the provider’s licensor about the question before responding to the provider.
Report details costs associated with implementing new 245D standards
A new DHS report is available that describes actual costs associated with implementing the new Chapter 245D standards and maltreatment investigation costs relating to Chapter 245D. The report also includes actions for reducing maltreatment investigations costs and options for funding such investigations.
2015 licensing legislative changes highlighted in summary
Licensing legislation passed in 2015 is summarized in a new publication from the Office of Inspector General's Licensing Division (PDF). In addition to general changes, other licensing areas affected include child care programs, chemical dependency treatment programs, child foster care, and home and community-based services. The update includes information about the specific changes in law as well as links to the pertinent statutes.
Heed provider alerts to decrease incidents in licensed programs
From time to time, DHS Licensing sends alerts to providers on situations that can pose risks to vulnerable adults, children and adolescents who are receiving services. Many of the alerts areas and recommendations are licensing requirements but not outlined in the rules. Providers who are licensed by DHS to provide care should pay attention to alerts and review the list of recommendations.
Initial license application fee decreases July 1, 2015; surcharge expires
On June 30, 2015, the license fee surcharge imposed in 2009 for developing a statewide electronic licensing system expires. Effective July 1, 2015, the initial application fee will be $500. Any applications received prior to this date will include the $50 surcharge for a fee total of $550. Contact the DHS Licensing Division with questions.
Sign up for email subscription to News from DHS
Subscribe to News from DHS if you would like to be added to a monthly email notification list for department news and website updates.
Report/Rate this page
|© 2016 Minnesota Department of Human Services Online||Updated: 11/23/16 9:18 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page ||