|About DHS||Aging||Partners & Providers||Children||Disabilities||Economic Supports||Health Care||Publications||Licensing|
Child Support - Unreimbursed and uninsured medical costs
Many support orders state the percentage of uninsured and unreimbursed medical or dental costs that each parent must pay. If a parent does not pay their portion, the other parent can begin a collection process by formally requesting payment. The child support office will not start collections unless all of the following are true:
Formal request for payment sent by the parent
A parent must make a formal request for payment for these costs within two years of the date of the medical expense. The parent requesting payment must notify the other parent by completing and sending the following documents:
These documents and instructions for completing them are in the Unreimbursed and/or Uninsured Medical/Dental Expenses Packet (DHS-4931) (PDF).
If the other parent does not respond to the Notice of Intent to Collect within 30 days, you may either:
Collection by the child support office
The child support office is not involved with the collection of unreimbursed and uninsured medical expenses until after 30 days have passed without a response from the responsible parent. If 30 days have passed, the parent requesting payment can ask the county child support office to collect the amount owed.
The worker will need a copy of each of these documents:
The child support office will verify that the parent making the request followed the correct procedure. If yes, then the office will send a Notice of Intent to Enforce Unreimbursed and/or Uninsured Medical/Dental Expenses to the parent responsible for payment.
The child support worker may add the expenses to the child support case.
Minnesota Statutes can be found on the Minnesota Office of the Revisor Web site.
Report/Rate this page
|© 2015 Minnesota Department of Human Services Online||Updated: 9/10/14 2:47 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page ||