Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services PCA Manual
Advanced Search|  

Personal Care Assistance

PCA criteria

Page posted: 11/04/13

Page reviewed:

Page updated:

Legal Authority

Minn. Stat. §245A, Minn. Stat. §252A.02, subd. 3a, Minn. Stat. §256B.0659, subd. 11

Definition

Personal care assistant: Individual employed by a personal care assistance provider agency, enrolled by DHS and provides personal care assistance services.

Criteria

An individual who is employed as a personal care assistant must meet two sets of requirements.

Employment requirements

An individual who is employed as a personal care assistant must:

1. Be 18 years of age or older.
2. Be employed by a PCA provider agency.
3. Initiate and clear a criminal background study.
4. Enroll with the DHS as a PCA once all employment criteria are met.

Requirements specific to providing services

An individual who is employed as a personal care assistant must:

1. Effectively communicate with the person and the PCA provider agency.
2. Be able to provide covered PCA services according to the person’s PCA care plan.
3. Respond appropriately to the person’s needs.
4. Report changes in the person’s condition to the qualified professional.
5. Maintain daily written records including, but not limited to, time sheets.
6. Complete training and orientation on the needs of the recipient.
7. Be supervised by the consumer or the qualified professional.

A person age 16-17 years old may be a PCA with the following additional requirements:

  • • Employed by only one PCA provider agency responsible for compliance with current labor laws
  • • Supervised by a qualified professional every 60 days
  • Policy

    A personal care assistant may not be the:

  • • Paid legal guardian of an adult
  • • Legal guardian of a minor
  • • Parent or stepparent of a minor child recipient
  • • Recipient of PCA services
  • • Responsible party of a recipient
  • • Spouse of a recipient
  • A PCA is limited to providing and being paid for up to 275 hours per month of PCA regardless of the number of recipients being served or the number of PCA provider agencies enrolled with.

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 11/8/13 4:13 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 11/8/13 4:13 PM