|About DHS||Aging||Partners & Providers||Children||Disabilities||Economic Supports||Health Care||Publications||Licensing|
Child Support – Income withholding
Most new or modified child support orders require employers and payor of funds to automatically withhold basic support, medical support, and child care support obligations from a noncustodial parent’s pay or other sources of income. The withheld funds pay the noncustodial parent’s child support obligations.
In cases involving modifications of support, the court must also make findings that payments have been made timely.
Once the child support agency indentifies the obligor’s employer or payor of funds, a notice to withhold support will be sent.
Employers have 14 days to process an order or notice to withhold. Employers must begin withholding no later than the first pay period following this 14-day time period. Employers must continue withholding until the child support agency notifies them in writing of any changes to the order.
Employers must remit the support they withheld within seven business days of the date the employee was paid the remainder of the income.
The amount withheld by the employer or payor of funds for child support must not exceed the limits imposed under the Consumer Credit Protection Act.
If the noncustodial parent is subject to multiple withholding orders or notices of income withholding for the support of more than one child, the payor of funds must comply with all of them as long as the total withheld doesn’t exceed these limits.
The United States Department of Labor’s Employment Law Guide provides more information about wage garnishment.
If the employer cannot withhold the total support amount due, the noncustodial parent still owes the amount that is not withheld.
When a case is closed, the child support agency will notify the employer or other payor of funds to stop income withholding for current support.
Noncustodial parents may ask the child support agency to automatically withdraw support and maintenance payments from their checking or savings account.
Minnesota Child Support Online gives noncustodial parents a record of all child support payments and how the money has been distributed to their cases.
Report/Rate this page
|© 2014 Minnesota Department of Human Services Online||Updated: 10/21/14 10:23 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page ||