Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) for People with Disabilities and Age 65 or Older – 245D

The Department of Human Services (DHS) licenses certain home and community-based services provided to people with disabilities and those ages 65 and older. Most of the services are funded under one of Minnesota’s Medicaid waiver programs.

The HCBS standards under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D, were part of a larger HCBS Waiver Provider Standards initiative to improve the dignity, health and independence of the people we serve.

  • Home and community-based services requiring a 245D license
  • HCBS Licenses and Service Settings
  • Integrated licensing systems: MDH Home Care and DHS HCBS
  • Legal authority
  • HCBS Provider Requirements

  • Apply for a 245D license
  • HCBS Programs Provider Enrollment – providers must apply for a 245D license and then enroll as a provider of these services
  • Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) provider manual – online source for coverage policies, rates, and billing procedures
  • Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM) – online resource for counties and tribes that administer home and community-based services
  • Licensing fees
  • HCBS Resources

  • Program Policies, Forms and Self-Monitoring Checklist – select to find and use sample documents for basic and intensive support services
  • General resources and training
  • When and how to make a provider report
  • Contact DHS Licensing
  • Rate/Report this page Report/Rate this page