245D License Fees

Application fees

Applicants submitting a 245D license application will pay a $500 application fee.

Annual renewal fees

All DHS licenses expire on December 31 of each calendar year. To renew the license for the next calendar year, an annual license fee must be paid before January 1. DHS Licensing sends by email an invoice to the license holder’s authorized agent starting in October for the annual license fee. The email contains a link for the license holder to pay the annual renewal fee online through US Bank.

If a 245D license holder does not pay the renewal fee by December 31, they are in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.10, subdivision 6, and must not operate after December 31.

It is important that DHS has the current email address for the license holder’s authorized agent because the invoices are sent to this email address. To update this information, call your DHS Licensor or the HCBS Help Desk at 651-431-6624.

Revenue-based fee

The 245D annual license fee is based on revenues derived from the provision of services that would require licensure under chapter 245D during the calendar year immediately preceding the year in which the license fee is paid.

  • • Revenue means only the revenues derived from the provision of services that would require licensure under chapter 245D.
  • • The lowest fee is $200 for revenues equal to or less than $10,000 and the highest fee is $18,000 for revenues equal to or greater than $15 million.
  • Verification of revenues

    If requested, the license holder must provide information to DHS to verify the annual revenues or other information as needed, including copies of documents submitted to the Department of Revenue.

    At each annual renewal, a license holder may elect to pay the highest renewal fee, and not provide annual revenue information to DHS.

    A license holder that knowingly provides incorrect revenue amounts for the purpose of paying a lower license fee shall be subject to a civil penalty in an amount that is double the fee the provider should have paid.

    For more information about 245D annual renewal fees, see Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.10.

    Rate/Report this page Report/Rate this page