Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
Advanced Search|  

Semi-independent living services (SILS)

Page posted: 3/13/06

Page reviewed: 5/3/11

Page updated: 6/21/17

Legal authority

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D, Minn. Stat. §252.275

Definition

Semi-independent living services (SILS): Services needed by an adult with a developmental disability or related condition(s) to live successfully in the community.

Eligibility

A person is eligible to receive SILS if he/she meets all of the following criteria:

  • • Is age 18 or older
  • • Has been determined to have a developmental disability or related condition
  • • Is unable to function independently without SILS
  • • Is not at risk of placement in an Intermediate Care Facility for People with Developmental Disabilities (ICF/DD).
  • If the person uses home and community-based waiver services, he/she is not eligible for SILS.

    Covered services

    The goal of SILS is to support people in ways that enable them to achieve personally desired outcomes and lead self-directed lives. SILS include training and assistance to:

  • • Engage in activities that make it possible for an adult with developmental disabilities or related condition(s) to live in the community
  • • Exercise social, recreation and transportation skills, including appropriate social behavior
  • • Learn and exercise the rights and responsibilities of community living
  • • Maintain personal appearance and hygiene
  • • Manage money, prepare meals and shop
  • • Obtain and maintain a home
  • • Perform first aid and obtain assistance in an emergency
  • • Self-administer medication
  • • Use the phone and other utilities
  • Under SILS, a person may receive a one-time housing allowance of up to $1,500. This allowance may cover some of the costs related to damage or security deposits for housing rentals, utility deposits, connection costs, household furnishings and other items necessary to enable the person to secure a home in which to receive SILS.

    Non-covered services

    A person may not receive SILS if he/she permanently resides in any of the following:

  • • ICF/DD
  • • Institution
  • • Nursing facility.
  • Provision of SILS

    The methods, materials and settings used to provide SILS must be designed to:

  • • Increase the person’s independence by teaching skills so he/she may perform tasks and activities without dependence on caregivers
  • • Increase the person’s opportunities to interact with people without disabilities who are not paid caregivers
  • • Provide daily schedules, routines, environments and interactions similar to those of people without disabilities of the same age
  • • Provide skill training in an environment where the skill will be used
  • • Support development of decision-making skills and informed choices in all aspects of daily living – including service provider selection, goals and methods, location and decor of residence, roommates, daily routines, leisure activities and personal possessions.
  • Funding

    The funding source for SILS is 70 percent state and 30 percent county. Each county has a guaranteed floor of $1,000.

    Counties may pay agencies or SILS workers directly, or they may issue vouchers or cash grants so a person can pay service providers

    Short-term medical stays

    If a person receives SILS and enters a nursing facility for short-term medical rehabilitation, he/she may continue to receive SILS to maintain life in the community.

    For example, when recovering from a surgical procedure, a person could receive SILS to process mail, pay bills or keep housing payments current.

    Provider standards and qualifications

    The county may contract with licensed or unlicensed SILS providers.

    Licensed

    Unless excluded from licensure under Minn. Stat. §245A.03, subd. 2 (1) and (2), the SILS provider must have a license under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D.

    A provider licensed under 245D must report all uses of controlled procedures, emergency use of manual restraint and prohibited procedures according to Minn. Stat. 245D.06, subd. 5 to DHS via the Behavioral Intervention Report Form DHS-5148 (PDF).

    Unlicensed

    A SILS provider may be excluded from 245D licensure if he/she meets the requirements in Minn. Stat. §245A.03, subd. 2(1) or (2).

    The county determines qualifications for the individual, unlicensed SILS worker. A friend or neighbor may receive payment to deliver SILS without a license if both conditions are met:

  • • County is satisfied with the prospective provider's capability
  • • Person on SILS identifies the friend or neighbor to provide SILS.
  • Lead agency responsibilities

    The county is responsible to:

  • • Authorize SILS
  • • Determine the amount, type, cost and expected outcomes of SILS based on the person’s assessed needs
  • • Document SILS in the person’s support plan when they are authorized
  • • Follow county procedures.
  • Additional resources

    DHS – College of Direct Support
    DHS Licensing – Apply for a 245D HCBS license

    MHCP Provider Training

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 6/21/17 10:37 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 6/21/17 10:37 AM