Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
Advanced Search|  

Residential care services

DHS is in the process of discontinuing this service. For additional details about the current status of this change, see CBSM – Discontinuation of the residential care waiver service.

Page posted: 10/1/03

Page reviewed: 9/3/15

Page updated: 1/20/17

Legal authority

Federally approved CADI and BI waiver plans, Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 144D, Minn. Stat. §157.17

Definition

Residential care: Support and health supervision services provided in a licensed residential setting as identified in a person’s community support plan.

Covered services

Supportive services for the person include:

  • • Assistance to arrange medical and social services
  • • Assistance to arrange meetings and appointments
  • • Assistance to manage personal funds
  • • Coordinating or providing transportation
  • • Individualized home management tasks
  • • Meal preparation
  • • Socialization
  • • Up to 24-hour supervision.
  • Health supervision services are limited to minimal assistance with:

  • • Dressing, grooming and bathing
  • • Reminding a person to take self-administered medications
  • • Storing medications under the supervision of a registered nurse.
  • Case managers/service coordinators are responsible to ensure service packages and provision of service meet the person’s assessed needs.

    Non-covered services

    Residential care does not cover the following:

  • • Cost of facility maintenance, upkeep and improvement
  • • Items of comfort and convenience
  • • Items paid for under room and board (cannot duplicate residential care costs)
  • • Services that duplicate other Minnesota state plan or waiver services.
  • When authorizing residential care services, the lead agency may not authorize the following as separate services:

  • Chore
  • Homemaker
  • Respite.
  • Size and location

    The lead agency may not authorize residential care services for people who reside in either of the following:

  • • Living setting adjoined to or on the same property as an institution (nursing facility, hospital, ICF/DD)
  • • Institution for mental disease if the institution or IMD has any financial interest in the living setting.
  • When a single provider leases or owns more than one living setting located on the same or adjoining property, only one of the settings may receive authorization for services.

    For people under the age of 55 years, up to four persons unrelated to the principal care provider may reside in a living setting.

    Size exception

    The size limitation does not apply if the residential care environment was developed before May 1, 2001, and has continuously provided residential care waiver services. For more information, see CBSM – Changes to size of setting – fifth bed

    Provider standards and qualifications

    Residential care is a DHS enrollment-required service. For more information, see CBSM – Waiver/AC service provider overview.

    A residential care providers must meet applicable standards of licensure, certification and registration in state law and rule. The residential care home must meet the applicable local building codes.

    If storing or distributing medications, the residence must comply with Minnesota Department of Health licensing regulations.

    Staff that provide individual assistance are required to have eight hours of training and orientation by a registered nurse.

    Staff that provide residential care services must have:

  • • An ability to perform essential job functions
  • • An ability to self-direct under intermittent supervision, deal with minor emergencies and manage crisis situations
  • • The communication skills including the ability to read, write, follow written and verbal instructions, and converse on the telephone
  • • The experience and/or training in caring for persons with functional limitations
  • • An understanding of and respect for confidentiality issues
  • • A valid Minnesota state driver’s license if providing transportation.
  • Authorization, rates and billing

    Residential care is a framework service. The lead agency uses the Rate Management System (RMS) to determine rates. For more information, see CBSM – Rate Management System and Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS) Service Rate Limits, DHS-3945 (PDF).

    Additional resources

    CBSM – BI, CAC, CADI and DD waivers general process and procedures
    CBSM – Discontinuation of the residential care waiver service

    Rate Management System (RMS) User Manual

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 5/30/17 1:41 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 5/30/17 1:41 PM