Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

Specialist services

Page posted: 10/1/03

Page reviewed: 12/29/17

Page updated: 12/29/17

Legal Authority

Federally approved BI, CAC, CADI and DD Waiver Plans, Minn. Stat. §245D.03


Specialist services: Services designed to promote staff and caregiver competency to meet a person’s needs in eligible areas.


To be eligible for specialist services, the person must have a documented need in one or more of the following areas:

  • • Augmentative communication
  • • Behavior and mental health symptom support to strengthen effective emotional and behavioral functioning and manage harmful symptom expression or conduct that could endanger self and others
  • • Community safety training and support
  • • Functional motor skills
  • • Independent living skills
  • • Personal health
  • • Social, leisure and recreational skills.
  • Covered services

    Specialist services cover:

  • • Assessments
  • • Evaluation of service outcomes identified in the person’s support plan
  • • Monitoring of specific program implementation
  • • Program development
  • • Training and supervision of staff and caregivers.
  • All of the functions listed above can be billed as either direct or indirect support.

    Non-covered services

    Specialist services do not cover services that duplicate other Minnesota state plan or waiver services. Behavior and mental health symptom support cannot duplicate positive support services (see CBSM – Positive support services).

    Secondary Information

    Specialist services must exceed the scope and duration of available Minnesota state plan or waiver services and be:

  • • Cost efficient
  • • Necessary to meet the person’s needs
  • • Documented in the person’s support plan.
  • Lead agency responsibilities

    The lead agency is responsible to:

  • • Identify the specific experience, skills and qualifications required of a specialist to meet the person’s needs
  • • Document the specific experience, skills and qualifications of a specialist in the support plan
  • • Monitor and evaluate the specialist services based on identified outcomes.
  • Provider standards and qualifications

    Specialist services are DHS enrollment-required services. For more information, see CBSM – Waiver/AC service provider overview.

    License requirement

    A specialist services provider must have a license under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D as an intensive support services provider.

    Additional requirements

    A provider of specialist services must:

    • Have the specific experience, skills and qualifications required to meet the needs of the person as identified in their support plan

    • Meet the qualified developmental disability professional standards when providing services to people with developmental disabilities.


    A provider licensed under 245D must report all uses of controlled procedures, emergency use of manual restraint and prohibited procedures according to Minn. Stat. 245D.06, subd. 5 to DHS via the Behavioral Intervention Report Form, DHS-5148.

    Authorization, rates and billing

    The lead agency authorizes specialist services at the market rate. For more information, see Long-Term Services and Supports Service Rate Limits, DHS-3945 (PDF).

    Additional resources

    CBSM – BI, CAC, CADI and DD waivers general process and procedures

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 1/3/18 4:09 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 1/3/18 4:09 PM