Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
Advanced Search|  

Night supervision services

Page posted: 10/1/03

Page reviewed: 1/3/17

Page updated: 12/29/17

Legal authority

Federally approved BI, CAC, CADI and DD waiver plans; Minn. Stat. Chapter 245A; Minn. Stat. §245D.03

Definition

Night supervision services: Overnight assistance and monitoring provided by an awake staff in the person’s own home.

Own home: For night supervision services, a person’s own home means a setting the person owns, rents or leases that is not operated, owned or leased by a provider of services or supports.

Covered services

Night supervision services include:

  • • Carrying out a person’s positive support programming and transition plans
  • • Reinforcing independent living skills training and other skill development supports
  • • Assisting with instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs).
  • Secondary information

    A person can receive night supervision services for no more than 12 hours in a 24-hour period.

    A person cannot receive night supervision services if they duplicate other Minnesota state plan or waiver services he or she already receives.

    Provider standards and qualifications

    Night supervision is a DHS enrollment-required service. For more information, see CBSM – Waiver/AC service provider overview.

    License requirements

    A night supervision provider must have a license under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D as a basic support service provider unless excluded. For more information, see CBSM – Exclusions from 245D licensure.

    Reporting

    A provider licensed under 245D must report all uses of controlled procedures, emergency use of manual restraint and prohibited procedures according to Minn. Stat. §245D.06, subd. 5 to DHS via the Behavioral Intervention Report Form, DHS-5148.

    Authorization, rates and billing

    Night supervision is a framework service. The lead agency uses the Rate Management System (RMS) to determine rates. For more information, see CBSM – Rate Management System and Long-Term Services and Supports Service Rate Limits, DHS-3945 (PDF).

    Additional resources

    CBSM – BI, CAC, CADI and DD waivers general process and procedures
    CBSM – Requirements for a person’s own home

    Rate Management System (RMS) User Manual

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 12/29/17 10:18 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 12/29/17 10:18 AM