|About DHS||Aging||Partners & Providers||Children||Disabilities||Economic Supports||Health Care||Publications||Licensing|
Adult Protective Services
Consumer content on this page has moved.
Adult Protective Services
Minnesota law mandates safe environments and services for vulnerable adults and protective services for vulnerable adults who have been maltreated. The DHS Adult Protective Services Unit provides training and consultation to citizens, service providers, counties, law enforcement and state agencies regarding the Minnesota Vulnerable Adult Act [Minnesota Statute Section 626.557 (1995)]. The unit also develops policy and best practices and collects and evaluates data to prevent maltreatment and plan adult protection services.
Reporting suspected maltreatment of vulnerable adults
On July 1, 2015, Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center was established. The center provides a web-based reporting system available 24 hours a day, seven days a week for mandated reporters mn.gov/dhs/reportadultabuse/. Mandated reporters are professionals or professionalís delegate identified by law (MS 626.5572 Subd. 16) who MUST make a report if they have reason to believe that the abuse, neglect of financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult has occurred. Mandated reporters can use a web-based reporting system. Reports will be promptly submitted to the appropriate investigative agencies. Mandated reporters may also make a phone report 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling the statewide toll-free number 844-880-1574.
Emergency: Reporters calling to report an emergency, including a medical emergency or crime in progress, must call 911 and then return to the website to make the mandated report of suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult.
The online reporting system may occasionally be unavailable when system maintenance is being conducted.
Send call center feedback to email@example.com
Mandated Reporter Training:
Some professionals are required to report suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult. Online Mandated Reporter Training provides training on state statute and the duties of mandated reporters. It is available to any interested person.
Guidelines to the Investigation of vulnerable adult maltreatment
The Adult Protection Manual provides policy and procedures for county staff as required in Minnesota Statute 626.557 Vulnerable Adult Act and Minnesota Rule 9555.7100-9555.7700. The Adult Protection checklist (PDF) to the investigation of vulnerable adult maltreatment. Check the list for signs of adult maltreatment (PDF).
Structured decision making tool in adult protection
Minnesota law requires county social service agencies to assess and offer protective services in response to reports of suspected maltreatment. Counties use a standardized tool, when making decisions regarding protective services and report investigation. The structured decision-making process is found in the "Guidelines and Procedures Manual" of the "Structured Decision Making (R) for Adult Protection manual.
The following is a list of Adult Protection resources to support county adult protection workers in serving and protecting people who are vulnerable in the community. Adult Protective Services keeps an aggregate statewide database on maltreatment reports. Adult Protection Data Reports
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Please contact DHS.AdultProtection@state.mn.us, by phone (651) 431-2609 or (800) 882-6262. TDD/TTY users please call (800) 627-3529 and ask for the phone number listed above.
County staff: Disability and Aging Policy Quest
Report/Rate this page
|© 2015 Minnesota Department of Human Services Online||Updated: 11/12/15 4:42 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page ||