Housing Resources ToolBox

Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers

Section 8 is a federal housing program that allows renters to pay a portion of their income for rent. There is a tenant-based (Housing Choice Voucher) and project based program.

Both were designed for people who are:

  • • Aged 62 and older, or
  • • Handicapped or disabled, or
  • • Low income families and their income does not exceed the current income limits.
  • Section 8 programs are administered by local, county or regional housing and redevelopment authorities (HRAs).

    Am I eligible for Section 8?

  • • Eligibility is determined by the housing authority based on the total adjusted gross income and family size.
  • • Eligibility is limited to US citizens and specified categories of non-citizens who have eligible immigration status.
  • For more information visit:


    For a list of contacts visit:


    Rate/Report this page   Report/Rate this page

    Related Pages

    Related Links