|About DHS||Aging||Partners & Providers||Children||Disabilities||Economic Supports||Health Care||Publications||Licensing|
Child Support – Applying for Services
Every child needs financial and emotional support. Minnesota’s child support enforcement program helps parents establish a financial partnership and helps children receive the financial, medical and child care support they deserve.
You can apply for child support services through your county child support agency. You can either apply for full child support (IV-D) Services or income withholding-only (Non-IV-D) services. We encourage you to compare the services provided before applying.
Most people who apply for full child support enforcement services must pay a $25 nonrefundable application fee. However, you do not have to pay the application fee if:
To apply for services, complete the Full Child Support (IV-D) Services Application and return it to the county child support agency. Include the $25 application fee made payable to Minnesota Child Support Payment Center.
If you already have a court order, the order must include child support or paternity issues to qualify for full child support services. The court order may also include spousal maintenance.
When you receive Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), Medical Assistance (MA), MinnesotaCare, Diversionary Work Program (DWP), Tribal TANF, Title IV-E Foster Care, or Child Care Assistance, and a parent lives away from your home, you do not need to apply for services. Your county financial worker will automatically refer your case for full child support enforcement services.
If you already have a court order, you can apply for income withholding-only services if:
Income withholding-only services are limited to processing payments received by the Child Support Payment Center for child support or spousal maintenance. DHS charges the obligor a $15 per month fee for this service.
Income withholding-only services do not include serving a notice of income withholding on the obligor’s employer.
To apply for income withholding-only services, complete the Income Withholding-Only Services (Non-IV-D) Application and return it to your county child support agency.
Spousal maintenance-only services
Minnesota law allows an obligor or obligee to apply for Income Withholding-Only Services (Non-IV-D) Application when there is a spousal maintenance obligation but no child support obligation. These cases are called “spousal maintenance-only” cases.
The child support agency will not assist in establishing orders for spousal maintenance.
The applicant, or a representative of the applicant, must serve the original and amended Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Spousal Support (pdf) on the obligor’s employer.
Report/Rate this page
|© 2013 Minnesota Department of Human Services Online||Updated: 5/13/13 8:38 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page ||