Programs and services

The Disability Services Division of the Minnesota Department of Human Services recognizes the importance of helping people live where they choose, with appropriate services that assure their health and safety.

Consumer Support Grant Program

The Consumer Support Grant (CSG) program is a state-funded alternative to Medicaid home care services of home health aide, personal care assistance and/or private duty nursing. Through cash grants, the CSG Program provides consumers with greater flexibility and freedom of choice in service selection, payment rates, service delivery specifications and employment of service providers.

Day Training and Habilitation

Day training and habilitation services include the supervision, training or assistance of a person to develop and maintain life skills, engage in productive and satisfying activities of their own choosing and participate in community life. DT&H services are designed and implemented in accordance with the individual service and individual habilitation plans to help persons reach and maintain their highest level of independence, productivity and integration into the community.

Family Support Grant Program

The Family Support Grant (FSG) Program provides state cash grants to families of children with disabilities. The goal of the program is to:

  • • Prevent or delay the out-of-home placement of children
  • • Promote family health and social well being by facilitating access to family-centered services and supports
  • Home care services

    Home care offers medical and health-related services and assistance with day-to-day activities to persons in their home. Home care can provide short-term care for persons moving from a hospital or nursing home back to their home or continuing care to persons who have ongoing needs.

    Home and community-based waivers

    Medicaid Home and Community-Based Service (HCBS) waivers afford states the flexibility to develop and implement community alternatives for Medicaid-eligible persons with disabilities and chronic health care needs who would otherwise receive services in a hospital, nursing facility or Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (ICF/DD).

    Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities

    An Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities is a residential facility licensed to provide services to persons with developmental disabilities or a related condition. ICFs/DD are located in 62 counties in Minnesota and serve from four to 64 persons.

    Medical Assistance for Employed Persons with Disabilities

    MA-EPD allows working persons with disabilities to qualify for MA under higher income and asset limits than regular MA. The goal of the program is to:

  • • Encourage people with disabilities to work
  • • Enjoy the benefits of being employed
  • Semi-Independent Living Services

    Semi-independent living services include training and assistance to persons in managing money, preparing meals, shopping, personal appearance, hygiene and other activities needed to maintain and improve the capacity of a person with a diagnosis of developmental disability to live in the community. A goal of SILS is to support people in ways that will enable them to achieve personally desired outcomes and lead self-directed lives.

    Let us know if you are unable to find information about Disability Services Division programs and services. E-mail


    Rate/Report this page Report/Rate this page