|About DHS||Aging||Partners & Providers||Children||Disabilities||Economic Supports||Health Care||Publications||Licensing|
Other Licensing Requirements
The Minnesota Department of Health licenses and regulates certain facilities as it relates to sanitation and safety of the buildings and to the health, treatment, comfort, safety, and well-being of the persons being served. Depending on the type of service that you intend to provide in your facility, you may need a license from each state agency. Additional information for MDH licensing information may be found on their website for:
Family child care governs licensure of providers of child care in a setting other than a child care center, usually the provider’s residence, for fewer than 24 hours per day.
The Department of Human Services has delegated licensing of family child care to counties. For licensing information, contact your county social services department or human services department. A listing of county social services departments or human services departments is available by on the Minnesota Department of Human Services Web site.
Family child care is licensed under DHS Rule 2 (Licensing of Family Child Care Facilities). The rule addresses, among other requirements: licensing of homes for family child care and group family child care, licensing process, negative licensing actions, agency records, caregiver qualifications, licensed capacity, child/adult ratios, age distribution requirements, age distribution restrictions, reporting agency, day care training, behavior guidance, admissions, provider records, reporting, activities and equipment, physical environment, sanitation and health, water, food and nutrition.
Rule 2: Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445 – Licensure of Family Child Care Facilities - Family and Group Family Child Care.
Center based child care - sets standards for licensing child care centers including programs that provide child care, preschool/nursery programs, Head Start programs, night care, drop-in and sick care for fewer than 24 hours a day in a setting that is not a residence.
The following is a general overview of the primary child care center licensing requirements, but does not include all specific requirements. For complete requirements, see Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170 (DHS Rule 3) and Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 245A and 245C.
Staff qualifications: The center must have a director and the appropriate number of staff qualified as teachers, assistant teachers, and aides based on staff ratio and distribution requirements. Within each age category, the first staff needed to meet the staff to child ratio must be a teacher; the second staff must be at least aide qualified; the third staff must be at least assistant teacher qualified; and the fourth staff must be at least aide qualified.
Teacher: Must be at least 18 and meet one of nine possible combined credential, education and experience requirements, such as a high school diploma with 4,160 hours experience as an assistant teacher and 24 quarter credits in a child care-related field.
Assistant teacher: Must work under the supervision of a teacher, must be at least 18, and meet one of the nine possible combined credential, education and experience requirements, such as a high school diploma with 2,080 hours experience as an aide or intern and 12 quarter credits.
Aide: Carries out the child care program activities under the supervision of a teacher or assistant teacher. Must be at least 16; if under 18 must be directly supervised by a teacher or assistant teacher at all times except with sleeping children or assisting with toileting and diapering.
Volunteers: If included in the staff ratio, must meet the requirements for the assigned staff position. Volunteers who have direct contact or access to children must be supervised by director, teacher or assistant teacher.
Staff orientation and in-service training: The applicant must ensure that every staff person and volunteer who will have direct contact with children, is given orientation training before starting assigned duties. At least one staff person trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid must be present in the center at all times when children are in care. The applicant must ensure that an annual in-service training plan is developed and implemented as required.
Child age groups:
Staff ratios and group size: The applicant must meet the minimally acceptable staff to child ratios and the maximum group size within the following age categories:
Child care program plan: The applicant must develop a written child care program plan that addresses supervision; age categories and number of children served; days and hours of operation; goals and objectives; activities; each child's progress; and the daily schedule. When a program admits a child with special needs, the program must ensure that an individual child care program plan is developed to meet the child's individual needs.
Required policies: The applicant must develop and implement written policies in the following areas:
Floor plan and designated areas: Indoor and outdoor space to be used for child care must be designated on facility floor plan.
Outdoor activity area: The outdoor activity area must meet specified requirements including 1,500 square feet with at least 75 square feet per child, must be within 2,000 feet of the center and enclosed if adjacent to traffic and other hazards, must be free of litter and other hazards, and must contain the required outdoor large muscle equipment.
Indoor space: The licensed capacity is limited by the amount of indoor space. A minimum of 35 square feet is required for each child. Hallways, stairways, closets, utility rooms, lavatories, water closets, kitchens and space occupied by cribs may not be counted as useable indoor space.
Toilets and sinks: One sink and one toilet must be provided for each 15 children; one toilet training seat for every 15 toddlers; hand sinks other than for infants must be in toilet area; single service towels or air dryers are required; fixtures must be placed at age-appropriate heights; and water temperatures must not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit.
Furnishings, equipment, materials and supplies: The program must have the quantity and type of furnishings, equipment and materials specified for infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children. The following are some examples of required furnishings, equipment and materials:
To begin the initial licensing process, the applicant must:
Background studies: All individuals having direct contact with children in care must have a background study conducted by DHS. Before an initial license is issued, the person(s) who signed the application and the individual(s) with the highest degree of decision-making authority over the program must have a background study clearance notification from DHS.
A license application is considered complete when all the required documentation is submitted. After DHS receives a complete application, a child care licensor will schedule and conduct an on-site inspection.
Rule 3: Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170 – Licensure of Child Care Centers.
Report/Rate this page
|© 2016 Minnesota Department of Human Services Online||Updated: 3/23/15 4:35 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page ||