Programs for People with Developmental Disabilities


The provider requirements for Developmental Disabilities (DD) Services currently licensed under Chapter 245B will be repealed when the new Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Standards under Chapter 245D become effective on January 1, 2014. A HCBS Program page will be available before July 1, 2013. Information about 245D HCBS license requirements are available online.

245B DD Service License Applications Discontinued

DHS will no longer accept applications for a 245B DD Services license. Unless a 245B license is required in order to provide DD services before Jan. 1, 2013, applications postmarked later than May 15, 2013, will be returned to the applicant and the application fee will be refunded. Any 245B license applications received before this date will be completed and a 245B license issued if the application is approved.

245B License Requirements; Inspections and Investigations

Providers are required to maintain compliance with the 245B DD Service standards until they are repealed.

DHS Licensing will not conduct 245B license inspections that would otherwise be due between July 1 and Dec. 31, 2013, in order to process 245D license applications.

DHS licensing will continue to investigate all reports alleging violations of 245B licensing requirements or maltreatment between July 1 and Dec. 31, 2013, in 245B licensed programs. Licensing actions will be issued and corrective action ordered when violations are determined as a result of an investigation during this time.

245D HCBS Program License Application Required

If you are a provider that intends to continue to operate and provide services in 2014 you must apply to have your 245B license(s) converted to a 245D-HCBS program license. A HCBS Program page will be available before July 1, 2013, with general information and access to the 245D license application through the online eLicensing system.

  • Using the licensing information lookup
  • Developmental disabilities programs
  • Day Training and Habilitation Services
  • Crisis Respite Services
  • Residential based habilitation services under the DD HCBS Waiver
  • In-Home Family Support
  • Supported Living Services
  • Semi-Independent Living Services
  • Supported Employment Services
  • Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities
  • Supervised Living Facility
  • Statutes and rules
  • Variances to licensing requirements
  • License terms and change of terms
  • Updates and legislative changes 245B will be repealed December 31, 2013. This link will take you to the new 245D HCBS licensing pages for current information.
  • Frequently asked questions
  • Developmental disabilities programs

    Day Training and Habilitation Services

    Licensed supports to provide persons with help to develop and maintain life skills, participate in community life and engage in proactive and satisfying activities of their own choosing. Health and social services directed toward increasing and maintaining the physical, intellectual, emotional and social functioning of people with developmental disabilities.

    Crisis Respite Services

    Crisis respite services provide specific short-term care and intervention strategies to a person due to the need for relief and support of the caregiver and/or protection of the person or others living with that person. This includes addressing both medical and behavioral needs.

    Residential Based Habilitation Services under the Developmental Disabilities or Related Condition Home and Community-based Waiver

    Services provided to a person who cannot live in his or her home without such services or who need outside support to remain in his or her home. Habilitation services are provided in the person’s residence and in the community, and should be directed toward increasing and maintaining the person’s physical, intellectual, emotional and social functioning.

    In-Home Family Support

    Habilitation services provided to a person and his/her family, including extended family members who are not providing licensed foster care, in the family’s home and/or in the community to enable the person to remain in or return to the home. Not only does this include training of the person, but also training the family members to increase their capabilities to care for and maintain the person in their home.

    Supported Living Services

    SLS for children

    Habilitation services provided to youth under 18 years of age who require daily staff intervention due to severe behavior problems, medical conditions, physical deficits and/or lack of adequate survival skills that result in the family’s inability to maintain them in their home.

    To access SLS for children, the person must live in one of the following:

  • • Family-style home with no more than three other persons
  • • Outside of the biological or adoptive home
  • • Where the home allows for community integration.
  • SLS for adults

    Habilitation services provided to an adult who requires daily staff intervention due to behavior problems, medical conditions, physical deficits and/or lack of adequate survival skills.

    SLS for adults may be provided in:

  • • Adult foster home
  • • Community
  • • Person’s own place of residence.
  • Semi-Independent Living Services

    SILS include training and assistance in managing money, preparing meals, shopping, personal appearance and hygiene and other activities needed to maintain and improve and adult with developmental disabilities’ capacity to live in the community. SILS are state and county funded.

    Supported Employment Services

    Supported employment services are provided to people for whom competitive employment at or above the minimum wage is unlikely, and who, because of their disabilities, needs intensive ongoing support to perform in a work setting. The person receiving services must be in a paid employment situation.

    Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities

    An ICF/DD is a residential facility licensed as a health care institution (supported living facility [SLF]) and certified by the Minnesota Department of Health to provide health or rehabilitative services for people with developmental disabilities who require active treatment.

    Supervised Living Facility

    An SLF is a facility that provides supervision, lodging, meals, counseling, developmental habilitation or rehabilitation services under a Minnesota Department of Health license to five or more adults who have a developmental disability, chemical dependency, mental illness, or a physical disability.

    Rule 40: Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2700 to 9525.2810 – Use of Aversive and Deprivation Procedures in Facilities Serving Persons with Developmental Disabilities. Sets standards prohibiting use of certain aversive and deprivation procedures, designate other procedures as permitted but controlled, specify the consents, reviews and standards required for using controlled procedures.

    Psychotropic Medication Use Checklist: The PMUC, along with the Psychotropic Medication Monitoring manual, is used to govern the administration of psychotropic medications. Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245B requires psychotropic medication monitoring to be completed for consumers who are prescribed psychotropic medication. If the responsibility for implementing the PMUC has not been assigned in the consumer's individual service plan and the consumer lives in a licensed site, the residential license holder is responsible for implementing the PMUC.

    Statues and Rules

    Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A

    Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245B

    Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C

    Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2700 to 9525.2810

    Rate/Report this page Report/Rate this page