|

October 6, 2026 CERTIFIED MAIL
Michelle Murray, Authorized Agent Nexus Family Healing- Aspen House 505 Highway 169 N Suite 500 Plymouth, MN 55441-6447
License Number 1114282-CRF (Children’s Residential Facility) Report Number 202603629
DETERMINATION OF MALTREATMENT
AND ORDER TO PAY A FINE
Dear Michelle Murray: The Department of Human Services (DHS) determined that Nexus Family Healing- Aspen House located at 2031 Victoria Road South, Mendota Heights, MN is responsible for maltreatment by neglect. Based on this determination, DHS is ordering you to pay a fine of $1000. Details of our findings are provided below and in the enclosed Investigation Memorandum for report 202603629. Our next steps and your options are also detailed. Determination of Maltreatment
It was reported that a staff person allowed an alleged victim’s (AV’s) family member (FM) to visit the AV at the facility, when it should not have been allowed. During the visit, the FM had inappropriate contact with the AV. DHS investigated the report as alleged maltreatment by neglect. Based on the maltreatment investigation, DHS determined that Nexus Family Healing- Aspen House was responsible for neglect of the AV. See the enclosed Investigation Memorandum for more information. Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.30, subdivision 2. Order to Pay a Fine
Because DHS determined that Nexus Family Healing- Aspen House is responsible for maltreatment of the AV, you must pay a $1000 fine. Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), subparagraph (4). Billing and Payment of the Fine
DHS will send you an invoice for the $1000 fine. Payment must be made as directed on the invoice. If you request a contested case hearing, as described below, do not pay the fine at this time. After the contested case hearing, the Commissioner of DHS will issue a final order. Please note, you may not avoid payment of this fine by closing, selling, or otherwise transferring the license to a third party. If this occurs, each controlling individual is personally and jointly responsible for payment. If you do not pay the fine on or before the date specified on the invoice and you did not request a contested case hearing, as described below, the Commissioner may issue a second fine, may not issue or reissue a license, or may suspend the license until the license holder pays the fine. YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL
1. Right to appeal the fine and maltreatment determination
You have the right to appeal the fine and maltreatment determination. Your request must be in writing and clearly state that you are requesting a contested case hearing for this matter. Your request must be made before the deadlines provided below. If you do not meet this deadline, you lose your right to an administrative appeal. The timeline to appeal began when you received this order. If you are mailing your request, it must be sent by certified mail and postmarked within 15 calendar days from when you received this order. Please send it to: Commissioner, Department of Human Services Office of Inspector General Legal Counsel’s Office Attention: Licensing Legal Unit PO Box 64953 St. Paul, MN 55164-0953 If your request is being personally delivered, it must be received by DHS within 15 calendar days from when you received this order. Please bring it to: Commissioner, Department of Human Services Office of Inspector General Legal Counsel’s Office Attention: Licensing Legal Unit 444 Lafayette Road North St. Paul, MN 55155 Upon DHS’ receipt of your timely appeal, your case would be scheduled for a contested case hearing in front of an Administrative Law Judge. After this hearing, the Commissioner of DHS will issue a final order. 2. Request for reconsideration of the maltreatment determination only
If you do not appeal the fine, you may still request reconsideration of the maltreatment determination. Your request must be made before the deadlines provided below. If you do not meet this deadline, you lose your right to request reconsideration. The timeline to request reconsideration began when you received this order. Your request must: · Be in writing
· Clearly state that you are requesting reconsideration of the maltreatment determination
· Identify what is inaccurate or incomplete about the information in the Investigation Memorandum
· Supply information that is accurate or more complete
· State why you believe the finding of maltreatment should be changed
· Be made before the deadlines provided below.
Your request must be postmarked within 15 calendar days from when you received this order. Please send it to: Commissioner, Department of Human Services Office of Inspector General Licensing Division Attention: Legal Unit PO Box 64242 St. Paul, MN 55164-0242 A response to your reconsideration request will be sent within 15 working days after DHS receives your request. You have the right to request a fair hearing if a response is not sent within 15 working days. 3. Right to appeal the order to pay a fine only
You have the right to only appeal the fine. Your request must be in writing and clearly state that you are requesting a contested case hearing for this matter. Your request must be made before the deadlines provided below. If you do not meet this deadline, you lose your right to an administrative appeal. The timeline to appeal began when you received this order.
If you are mailing your request, it must be sent by certified mail and postmarked within 10 calendar days from when you received this order. Please send it to:
Commissioner, Department of Human Services Office of Inspector General Licensing Division Attention: Legal Unit PO Box 64242 St. Paul, MN 55164-0242 If your request is being personally delivered, it must be received by DHS within 10 calendar days from when you received this order. Please bring it to: Commissioner, Department of Human Services Office of Inspector General Licensing Division Attention: Legal Unit 444 Lafayette Road North St. Paul, MN 55155 Upon DHS’ receipt of your timely appeal, your case would be scheduled for a contested case hearing in front of an Administrative Law Judge. After this hearing, the Commissioner of DHS will issue a final order. 4. Legal representation at the contested case hearing
You do not need a lawyer to appeal. However, a lawyer can help you with your appeal. The state or county will not get you a lawyer and will not pay for a lawyer. If you cannot afford a lawyer, you may be able to get free legal advice or help with your appeal. To find out if free help is available, contact: Volunteer Lawyers Network at 612-752-6677; Central Minnesota Legal Services at 612-332-8151; Southern Minnesota Legal Services at 651-222-4731; or go to www.lawhelpmn.org to find a local legal services program that may be able to help you.
You can also find information on contested cases from the Office of Administrative Hearings website at https://mn.gov/oah/self-help. Click on Administrative Law Overview, then click on Administrative Law
Legal authority for this licensing action
· This action is taken under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), which describes under which conditions DHS may impose a fine against a license.
· Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), clause (4), item (i) provides that DHS may impose a $1000 fine for each determination of maltreatment of a child under chapter 260E for which the license holder is determined responsible.
· Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), clause (4), item (ii) provides that DHS may impose a $5000 fine for each determination of maltreatment of a child under chapter 260E which meets the definition of serious maltreatment for which the license holder is determined responsible.
· “Serious maltreatment” is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245C.02, subdivision 18.
· In determining whether the facility, an individual, or both are responsible for substantiated maltreatment, DHS must consider the mitigating factors provided in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E.
· Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), clause (5) states that license holders may not avoid payment of a fine by closing, selling, or transferring a license.
· Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.10, subdivision 9, states that DHS shall not reissue a license or certification until the license holder has paid all outstanding debts related to a licensing fine or settlement agreement for which payment is delinquent.
· Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (c)(2), states that that the license holder shall pay the fine assessed on or before the payment date specified, and if the license holder does not do so the commissioner may issue a second fine or suspend the license until the license holder complies.
· License holders have a right to appeal licensing actions and request a contested case hearing, under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612.
· License holders have a right to request reconsideration of a maltreatment determination, under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.33.
Questions
If you have any further questions regarding this matter, you may contact Sarah Schumacher, Supervisor, at 651-431-6555. Sincerely, 
Maggie Hanson, Intake & Investigations Unit Manager Licensing Division Office of Inspector General
PO Box 64242 • Saint Paul, Minnesota • 55164-0242 • An Equal Opportunity and Veteran Friendly Employer https://mn.gov/dhs/general-public/licensing/
|