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NUMBER 
#20-25-02 

 
DATE 

Aug. 24, 2020 
 

OF INTEREST TO 
County Directors 

Social Services Supervisors and 
Staff 

Managed Care Organizations 

Tribal Agencies 

Providers 
 

ACTION/DUE DATE 
Immediately 

 
EXPIRATION DATE 

May 19, 2022 
 

Customized living rate add-on payments 
for settings with confirmed cases of 
COVID-19 

 
 

TOPIC 
Information about a temporary rate add-on for customized living 
services delivered to Elderly Waiver (EW), Community Access for 
Disability Inclusion (CADI), and Brain Injury (BI) Waiver program 
participants who live in a setting that has been determined by the 
Minnesota Department of Health to have at least one case of COVID-19. 

PURPOSE 
The purpose of this bulletin is to: 
1. Define provider eligibility for the customized living rate add-on. 
2. Describe the rate add-on payments, including how the payments are 

made and how long provider settings can receive payments. 
3. Describe the terms and conditions that apply to add-on payments. 
 
This bulletin was revised on August 24, 2020 to change the due date for 
returning attestations to DHS from August 31, 2020 to September 30, 2020. 
All other bulletin content is the same as before.   

CONTACT 
Aging and Adult Services Division: dhs.aasd.hcbs@state.mn.us 

SIGNED 
 
DAN POLLOCK 
Assistant Commissioner 
Continuing Care for Older Adults Administration  
 
GERTRUDE MATEMBA-MUTASA 
Assistant Commissioner 
Community Supports Administration 
 
MATT ANDERSON 
Assistant Commissioner and State Medicaid Director 
Health Care Administration 

TERMINOLOGY NOTICE 
The terminology used to describe people we serve has changed over 
time. The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) supports the 
use of "People First" language. 
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I. Background 
People who receive customized living services are especially vulnerable to COVID-19 because of their age, 
underlying health conditions and their proximity to other COVID-19 susceptible people. The state’s goal is to 
support providers to ensure the health and safety of people who receive customized living services, during 
this emergency period. 

This bulletin describes add-on payments available through the authority granted to the Commissioner under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 12.A.10. These payments are available to eligible customized living providers 
serving people in the Elderly Waiver (EW), Community Alternative for Disability Inclusion (CADI), or Brain 
Injury (BI) waiver programs to help cover additional costs associated with COVID-19. 

DHS will provide a 50% rate add-on for customized living services for 45 days, beginning the date the provider 
setting had at least one COVID-19 exposure, as determined by the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). 
This rate add-on is available to providers delivering services in a setting that has had at least one confirmed 
COVID-19 case among its residents or staff between March 13, 2020 and July 31, 2020. 

II. Eligibility for the customized living rate add-on 
To be eligible for the rate add-on, a setting that provides customized living services must: 

• Have at least one MDH-confirmed COVID-19 exposure between March 13, 2020 and July 31, 2020. 
Confirmed exposure may include health care workers and/or residents. Confirmed exposure does not 
need to involve a waiver program participant. 

• Provide customized living services and/or 24-hour customized living services to one or more waiver 
program participants through EW, CADI or BI waiver programs during the period the provider is eligible 
for the rate add-on. 

• Submit a DHS attestation form that indicates the provider agrees to certain conditions for receiving the 
additional payments. 

Eligible provider settings will receive add-on payments for 45 days, regardless of the length of the COVID-19 
outbreak in the setting. Each provider setting is limited to one 45-day add-on payment period. 

How eligible provider settings will be identified, notified and set up to receive add-on payments 

MDH will provide DHS with information about settings that have had at least one confirmed COVID-19 
exposure beginning March 13, 2020. MDH will also provide DHS with information on settings with 
confirmed exposure of COVID-19 on an ongoing basis. DHS will use this information to identify customized 
living providers enrolled in Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP). DHS will communicate directly with 
identified customized living providers to request they complete the attestation, which they must complete 
and return to DHS before add-on payments are made. 

DHS will send attestation forms directly to MHCP-enrolled customized living providers in identified settings as 
soon as DHS determines a provider is eligible for add-on payments. Attestation forms can be submitted to DHS as 
of the date of this bulletin’s publication and must be submitted by or before September 30, 2020. Providers that 
are not currently serving any waiver participant in an eligible setting may still choose to submit an attestation 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/12A.10
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form. The provider will receive the add-on payment for customized living services delivered to any eligible person 
in that setting for all dates of service during the 45 day period. 

Since rate add-on payments can occur retroactively back to March 13, 2020, DHS will begin by working with 
providers in settings with confirmed COVID-19 exposure prior to the publication of this bulletin. Providers should 
allow 10 business days after their first confirmed COVID-19 exposure for DHS’ communication related to the rate 
add-on. If a provider has not heard from DHS after 10 business days, they may contact DHS at 
DHS.AASD.HCBS@state.mn.us. DHS will work with the provider and MDH to determine whether the provider 
meets the eligibility criteria. 

III. Rate add-on payments 
How add-on payments are calculated 

The rate add-on will equal 50 percent of the total amount of paid claims for customized living services delivered 
to eligible people in the eligible provider setting for dates of service within the 45-day time period of provider 
eligibility. Eligible people are waiver program participants who received customized living services through EW, 
CADI or BI waiver programs during the time period the provider setting is eligible for the rate add-on. 

Submit claims as usual for the amount authorized for an individual waiver participant through typical customized 
living rate-setting mechanisms and communication with case managers/care coordinators. 

Add-on payments do not impact participant’s individualized rates or EW monthly limits and caps 

Add-on payments are not made through changes to participant’s individualized customized living rates, but as 
adjustments to customized living paid claims. Case managers/care coordinators do not need to adjust individual 
customized living service plans, service agreements, units, or rates as a result of a provider setting being eligible 
for the rate add-on. Case managers/care coordinators should follow guidance in Section V about meeting the 
needs of individual waiver participants, if there are any changes to a person’s needs. 

Add-on payments do not count against EW participants’ monthly customized living service rate limits or their 
monthly EW case mix budget caps. 

Claims eligible for the payment add-on 

Rate add-ons are available for eligible provider settings beginning on the date the provider had one MDH-
confirmed COVID-19 exposure retroactive to March 13, 2020. 

Claims eligible for the rate add-on must: 

• Have dates of service that begin on or after the date the provider had one MDH-confirmed COVID-19 
exposure and end 45 days after the begin date of provider eligibility. 

• Be valid and have a paid amount (the claim is paid for an eligible home and community-based services 
(HCBS) participant). 

As noted in the bulleted list above, add-on payments will occur for 45 days after the first date of eligibility. For 
example, if the setting’s first confirmed exposure was on April 1, the add-on payments would be applied to 
eligible claims for dates of service from April 1 to May 15, 2020. If the first confirmed exposure was July 31, the 
final day a provider can become eligible, the add-on payments would be applied July 31 to September 13, 2020. 

 

mailto:DHS.AASD.HCBS@state.mn.us
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How the add-on will be paid for fee-for-service claims 

The rate add-on will be applied as a gross claims adjustment. DHS will calculate the total fee-for-service paid 
claims amount for customized living submitted by an eligible provider for all waiver program participants served 
in the provider’s eligible setting. The gross adjustment will occur as part of the usual fee-for-service claims and 
remittance-warrant cycle. 

For example, if an eligible provider has a total dollar amount of $10,000 paid on claims for five program 
participants in the eligible setting, the amount of the rate add-on applied as a gross claims adjustment would be 
$5,000. This amount is paid as a gross adjustment based on the total amount paid to an eligible provider, not paid 
per line item or per waiver participant amount claimed. 

Since the add-on payments will occur as adjustments to claims, the add-on payments will naturally occur on 
warrants later than the warrant that included the eligible claims. In many cases, the add-on will be paid two-four 
weeks after the warrant that included the eligible claims. The gross adjustment will appear as a separate entry on 
the provider remittance. 

Managed Care Organizations must pay the rate add-on to eligible providers 

DHS will provide information to managed care organizations (MCOs) related to eligible provider settings, 
including the effective date of eligibility as determined by DHS. MCOs must pay the 50 percent rate add-on for 
customized living claims that meet the criteria outlined above submitted by an eligible provider delivering 
services in an identified setting. 

Providers must submit attestation forms to DHS. Do not submit attestation forms directly to managed care 
organizations. MCOs will make payments to eligible providers based on information provided by DHS. 

Importance of timely claims 

Providers are encouraged to submit claims for customized living services in a timely manner. Neither DHS nor 
MCOs are able to process rate add-on payments until providers submit customized living claims. Submission 
delays will result in delays in receiving rate add-on payments. 

IV. Terms and conditions of payments 
The rate add-on payments described in this bulletin are to help providers of customized living services meet 
the health and safety needs of waiver program participants in settings that have one or more confirmed 
COVID-19 exposure. The add-on payments will help cover the following kinds of costs: 

• Additional Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) 
• Additional staff time to adjust service delivery to implement recommended or mandated public health 

practices (e.g. social distancing, screening staff or visitors for health concerns) 
• Implementation of infection control procedures, such as additional facility cleaning and disinfecting 
• Paid sick leave for staff, replacement staff or overtime pay 
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Provider Attestation 

To receive the add-on payments, providers must verify on a form provided by DHS (Attachment A), that they 
understand and agree to certain conditions for receiving the additional payments. 

V. Meeting the needs of individual waiver participants 

The rate add-on payments are not intended to be used to meet increased needs of individual waiver 
participants. Revisions to customized living service delivery plans and resulting changes to approved customized 
living rates are accomplished through the typical mechanisms and communication with case managers/care 
coordinators. See COVID-19 guidance for EW customized living and the service planning and authorization page 
of the Rate Management System (RMS) User Manual for information related to waiver participants. 

VI. Additional information 
For additional COVID-19 information and updates, go to: 

• COVID19 Information and Updates - State of Minnesota 
• Latest information about COVID-19 from DHS Aging and Adult Services Division 
• Latest information about COVID-19 from DHS Disability Services Division 

 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) advisory 
This information is available in accessible formats for people with disabilities by calling 651-431-4300 (local) or 866-
267-7655 (toll free), or by using your preferred relay service. For other information on disability rights and 
protections, contact the agency’s ADA coordinator. 

https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=DHS-321080
https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=dhs16_193211
https://mn.gov/covid19/
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/news-initiatives-reports-workgroups/aging/covid-19-news.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/news-initiatives-reports-workgroups/long-term-services-and-supports/news/dsd-covid-faq.jsp
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Customized Living Rate Add-on Provider Attestation 

Providers determined to be eligible by DHS for customized living rate add-on payments use this form to attest to 

the terms and conditions of the payments. This attestation must be completed by an eligible provider and 

approved by DHS before add-on payments can be made. See Bulletin 20-25-02 for information about eligible 

providers. Questions about this form or completed forms should be sent to DHS.AASD.HCBS@state.mn.us. 

Provider Information 

Home Care License#: __________________________   HFID#: _________________________________________  

NPI/UMPI#: ___________________   NPI/UMPI#: ____________________   NPI/UMPI#: ____________________   

Name of Setting/Site: ___________________________________________________________________________ 

Street Address, City, State and Zip Code of Setting/Site:  

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Payment Start-date: _____________   Payment End-date: _____________ 

Attestation 

____I agree to receive the customized living rate add-on payments and agree to the following: 

1. I understand that the rate add-on payments are to be used to cover costs related to COVID-19, such as:

(a) additional Personal Protective Equipment; (b) additional staff time to adjust service delivery to

implement recommended or mandated public health practices (e.g. social distancing, screening staff or

visitors for health concerns); (c) implementation of infection control procedures such as additional facility

cleaning and disinfecting; and (d) paid sick leave for staff, replacement staff or overtime pay

2. I understand that the rate add-on payments are to support the COVID-related costs of serving HCBS

waiver participants, meaning people who receive customized living services through Elderly Waiver, Brain

Injury, or Community Access for Disability Inclusion waivers.

3. I understand that add-on payments will only apply to valid claims for customized living services that occur

between the Payment Start-date and Payment End-date on this form.

4. I agree to notify DHS in writing of any other federal, state or local government or private sector COVID-

related funding I have applied for within 15 days of submitting applications and any other COVID-related

funds I have received within 15 days of the receipt of funding, if the funds will duplicate funding I receive

through the customized living rate add-on. Note: Funds are not considered duplicative if the funds cover

other costs not covered by the rate add-on, or the funds cover the proportion of costs not related to

serving HCBS waiver participants, or the funds cover a time period not covered by the rate add-on.

5. I agree to maintain a record of how add-on payment funds were used to support allowable COVID-19

related costs.

https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_FILE&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&Rendition=Primary&allowInterrupt=1&noSaveAs=1&dDocName=dhs-321453
mailto:DHS.AASD.HCBS@state.mn.us
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6. I agree, upon request, to provide DHS documentation of COVID-related expenses including payroll records

or payment receipts for supplies.

7. I understand that amounts paid by DHS through this rate add-on may be subject to recovery if the add-on

payment funds were not used to support allowable COVID-19 related costs and/or other funding received

by the provider duplicates the purpose of these payments.

OR 

___ I decline to receive the customized living rate add-on payments. I must notify DHS in writing prior to 

September 30, 2020 if I change my mind and wish to receive customized living add-on payments. 

I, THE APPLICANT, CERTIFY ALL INFORMATION IS TRUE AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE. 

Provider Signature ___________________________________________________________ Date: ____________ 

Full Name: ____________________________________ Title: __________________________________________ 

Organization: ________________________________________ Phone Number: __________________________  

Email: _________________________________   
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