If a MFIP/DWP family has an approved Employment Plan with a self-employment activity, the parent is not subject to the minimum hour and minimum wage requirements. Authorize the number of hours needed for the self-employment activity or for support of the self-employment activity, as indicated by the job counselor. The number of hours authorized for each child should be the number of hours that care is needed to support the parental authorized activities, excluding the hours that the child does not need child care or the hours that the provider is unavailable. The child may not need child care due to the child being in school.
BSF, TY, TYE and MFIP/DWP participants without an approved Employment Plan must meet employment requirements at application and redetermination to receive child care during self-employment hours.
See Chapter 6.16 (Applicable minimum wage) for the minimum wage references. Use the higher minimum wage unless the parent supplies information that they are not subject to this standard. If a self-employed person believes they are not subject to the higher minimum wage and verification is not available, work with the parent to identify the applicable minimum wage. If verification is not available, accept a statement from the parent that they are not subject to the higher minimum wage and the reason why.
You must calculate the annual CCAP gross earned income from self-employment income first. Gross earned income from self-employment is the gross-self-employment receipts less the operating expenses. See Chapter 6.15.6 (Annualizing self-employment income).
To determine if self-employment meets minimum activity requirements:
If the parent is self-employed for at least an average of 20 hours per week at the applicable minimum wage (10 hours if a full time student), they meet the minimum activity requirements.
At application and redetermination, if the parent is not self-employed for at least an average of 20 hours per week at the applicable minimum wage (10 hours if a full time student), they do not meet the minimum activity requirements (unless they have another employment activity – see below).
During the 12 month eligibility period, if the parent no longer meets minimum activity requirements but is still working, the parent continues to be eligible.
If the parent meets the minimum activity requirements, authorize child care for the self-employment activity for the LESSER OF:
For 12 Month Reporters, the amount of care authorized during the 12 month eligibility period must continue at the same number of hours or more until redetermination, including when the parent no longer meets minimum activity requirements but is still working. If a parent requests more hours of care, they must verify the need for more hours.
For Schedule Reporters, the amount of care authorized during the 12 month eligiblity period can change when a parent’s activity schedule changes. Schedule Reporters must report changes in hours worked.
Agencies cannot require families to submit monthly reporting logs for CCAP.
See Chapter 9.12 (Authorization Changes During the 12 Month Eligiblity Period).
If the parent has a self-employment activity and another employment activity:
If the parent has at least one self-employment activity with a negative gross income:
Minnesota Statutes 119B.009
Minnesota Statutes 119B.095
Minnesota Rules 3400.0040