When a family has a permanent end to their only authorized activity (employment, education or training), they continue to be eligible for up to three months or until their next redetermination, whichever occurs first. They do not lose eligibility or have their eligibility suspended.
Do not reduce the number of hours authorized unless the family asks for a reduction. Do not increase the number of hours authorized. Continue to pay for child care during the Extended Eligibility period. Give a 15 day adverse action notice before terminating care at the end of the Extended Eligibility period.
If a parent reports that they have started a new activity prior to the end of their Extended Eligibility period, the family continues to be eligible (under the 12 month eligibility policies) and the case moves out of Extended Eligibility.
If a parent reports an end in their activity, consider the end permanent unless the family reports the end is temporary. For more on temporary changes in activity, see Chapter 9.12 (Authorization changes during the 12 month eligibility period) and Chapter 9.15.3 (Care during temporary leaves of absence).
If a parent experiences an end in activity that they believe is temporary and later understand to be permanent, they must report the change. Begin the family’s Extended Eligibility period the date the family indicates the change became permanent.
Minnesota Statute 119B.025
Minnesota Statute 119B.105