CCAP will only allow child care assistance for care authorized in the child’s home if the child’s parents have authorized activities outside of the home (or in a two parent household, one parent has been determined unable to care) and if one or more of the following circumstances are met:
When requesting in-home child care, the parent must complete the Parent Request for In-Home Child Care (PDF) (DHS-6475) and submit the form with the appropriate documentation to their Child Care Assistance Worker.
The county should submit completed requests, including all required documentation, to DHS for consideration. The county will receive a letter indicating whether the request was approved or denied. Only cases approved by DHS for an exception can be authorized. Dates of approval are limited to 12 months and in-home care can be authorized retroactive to the effective date of approval on the official letter from DHS, contingent on the parent(s) being in an authorized activity and the provider being approved as a CCAP provider. For approved cases, follow the MEC2 User Guide instructions for entering the information on the “Child’s Provider” window.
Once the exemption ends at the end of the 12 month period, if in-home care is still needed, parents must complete a new in-home care request and submit new documentation.
See Chapter 9.6 (Payment to Families) for further information on when a provider cares for children in the children’s own home.
To ensure that all persons employed as in-home child care providers receive the wages they are legally entitled to, the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division has information for parents or guardians receiving assistance under the Child Care Assistance Program, Foster Care Assistance, Child Welfare, or any other state funded program, alerting them to their legal obligations to pay minimum wage and overtime to such care providers.
Fact Sheets on minimum wage and overtime provisions of the FLSA are available at www.dol.gov/whd. Provide these guides to all people who employ in-home providers.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 19
Minnesota Statutes 119B.09, Subd. 5, 10 and 13
Minnesota Statutes 119B.125
Minnesota Rules 3400.0035, Subp. 7-9