When a family has been receiving child care assistance and a change makes them ineligible, AND you believe the ineligibility to be temporary and do not know when the temporary ineligibility will end, reserve the family’s position in CCAP. Such situations include:
· Participants who do note have an eligible activity following their Extended Eligiblity period.. Temporary ineligibility status for this reason cannot exceed 90 days. When the 90th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the timeframe for meeting all eligibility requirements is extended to the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
· Students who do not have documentation verifying continued school registration at redetermination. Temporary ineligibility status for this reason cannot exceed one academic quarter or semester as determined by the educational institution.
· Families whose increased income from active military service makes them ineligible. Continue temporary ineligibility status until the person is deactivated from military service.
When a family moves out of temporary ineligibility because the family is eligible, there are different policies for authorizing care depending on the family’s reporting status and when their redetermination occurs:
- If the family moves out of temporary ineligible status during the same 12 month eligibility period, the authorized hours should be the same as what was authorized prior to when the family went into temporary ineligible status (unless the family provides verification showing that more hours are needed).
- If the family moves out of temporary ineligible status when their redetermination is processed, the authorized hours should be based on the redetermination. The authorized hours can increase or decrease.
- If the family was placed into temporary ineligible at redetermination and they move out of temporary ineligible status later, the authorized hours should be based on the amount of care needed at the time the family moves out of the temporary ineligible status. The authorized hours can increase or decrease.
· For Schedule Reporters, the number of hours authorized is based on the parents’ verified activity schedule. The hours can increase or decrease at redetermination and during the 12 month eligibility period.
· For 12 Month Reporters:
In addition, your agency may reserve a family’s position in CCAP if the family:
· Reaches the top of the Basic Sliding Fee (BSF) waiting list.
· Is temporarily ineligible.
Check your County and Tribal Child Care Fund Plan to determine whether your county or tribe has chosen this option. Follow the time periods established above for those families you reserve a position for, if the county or tribe has chosen this option.
The agency must reserve a military family’s position on the BSF waiting list if the family is approved to receive CCAP and reaches the top of the waiting list but is temporarily ineligible for assistance.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.09, subd. 4a
Report/Rate this page
Minnesota Statutes 645.15
Minnesota Rules 3400.0040, subp. 17
Minnesota Rules 3400.0060, subp. 6