Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

8 12 Month Eligibility Period

ISSUE DATE: 12/2017

After an application or redetermination has been approved, a family enters a 12 month eligibility period. During this period, limited factors can negatively impact a family’s case. The purpose of the eligibility period is to provide for stable, consistent child care arrangements for children in the family.

Most changes will not impact the family’s eligibility until their next redetermination. See Chapter 8.1 (Changes in circumstances).

Policies support continuous eligibility and maintaining consistent child care arrangements for families and children during the 12 month period by:

  • · Aligning approved activities across CCAP sub-programs. See Chapter 16.15 (Authorized activities comparison sheet).
  • · Limiting verification requirements. See Chapter 7.4 (Verification – 12 month eligibility period).
  • · Providing a graduated phaseout for families when income exceeds the 67% exit limit. See 6.3 (Exit limits).
  • · Applying some eligibility requirements only at application and redetermination. See Chapter 4.9 (Cooperation with Child Support) and Chapter 4.6 (Employment and training requirements).
  • · Allowing copayment fee reductions when a family verifies an income change. Copayment increases are not allowed. See Chapter 6.21 (Family copayment).
  • · Allowing copayment fee reductions when a family’s household size increases. Copayment increases are not allowed. See Chapter 6.21 (Family copayment).
  • · Allowing child care hours to increase when a family verifies a need for more hours. Authorized hour decreases are not allowed for most families. See Chapter 9.12 (Changes to child care authorizations during the 12 month eligibility period).
  • · Allowing child care hours to continue when a family has a temporary end to their activity. See Chapter 9.15.6 (Temporary leaves of absence).
  • · Allowing child care hours to continue when a family has a permanent end to their activity. See Chapter 9.15.9 (Extended Eligibility).
  • · Limiting reporting requirements during the 12 month eligibility period. See Chapter 8.3 (Reporting requirements).
  • Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.025
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.05
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.09
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.095
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.10
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.105
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.12
    Minnesota Statutes 256P.07

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 12/5/17 8:50 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 12/5/17 8:50 AM