Do not authorize more than 120 hours per child every two weeks.
Authorize care as needed for:
· All hours of actual class time
· Credit hours for independent study and internships
· Up to two hours of travel time per day
· Two hours per week per credit hour for post-secondary students for study time and academic appointments. When a student has more than one hour between classes on any one day, reduce the authorized study time by the number of hours between classes.
See Chapter 9.1.1 (Authorizing care – Employment) for information about authorizing care for employment hours when a student is employed.
· Child care assistance for remedial classes is subject to the agency approval of an acceptable course of study. Authorize child care assistance for remedial classes as needed for the student to attend class and complete class assignments.
· For Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) or Diversionary Work Program (DWP) students with an approved education or training plan, authorize child care assistance according to the approved Employment Plan (EP).
· Students on school breaks who are expected to return to school at the end of the break remain eligible during the break, including summer break.
- For 12 Month Reporters: do not reduce their authorized hours or end their Service Authorization.
- For Schedule Reporters:
1. If the break is expected to last 15 calendar days or less, care should continue to be authorized during the break period.
2. If education is the family’s only authorized activity, and the break is expected to last more than 15 calendar days, the case should be suspended for the break period. A 15 day notice of adverse should be sent to the family and provider. It is acceptable for the 15 day notice to be sent in advance of the scheduled break, when the break begins, or when acting on the reported change.
3. If education is not the family’s only authorized activity, and the break is expected to last more than 15 calendar days, the number of hours authorized should be reduced to reflect the authorized hours needed for the family’s other authorized activities during the break period. A 15 day notice of adverse action should be sent to the client and provider. It is acceptable for the 15 day notice to be sent in advance of the scheduled break, when the break begins, or when acting on the reported change.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.10
Report/Rate this page
Minnesota Rules 3400.0040