Child care assistance families are responsible for a copayment. The copayment is paid to the family’s child care provider biweekly.
The copayment amount is based on family size and annual income after allowable deductions. Copayments are graduated to provide movement of families to full payment of child care costs as their income increases.
During the biweekly period when the family first receives service, MEC2 will prorate the copayment based on the number of calendar days left in the biweekly period.
During the 12 month eligibility period, the amount of the copayment can be reduced. When family income decreases or the family size increases , the copayment is reduced in the next biweekly period. If verification of the change is not provided, the family remains eligible, but the copayment should not be reduced.
MEC² will not check if entered income changes are verified. Do not enter an unverified income decrease. If an unverified income decrease is entered into MEC² the system may reduce the copayment for the family. If verification later shows that the copay should not have decreased, the family may be subject to an overpayment.
During the 12 month eligibility period, the amount of the copayment cannot be increased. When family income increases or the family size decreases, the copayment will stay the same until the family’s next redetermination. At redetermination, the copayment will increase after a 15 day notice.
NOTE: A copayment can increase during the 12 month eligibility period due to recoupment of an overpayment. See Chapter 14.9.6 (Recoupment – Families).
In some situations, the family is not required to pay the copayment. This includes when:
· The child care provider has chosen to waive the copayment for the family.
· Someone outside the family pays the copayment on behalf of the family. Examples include payment by scholarships or a friend of the family. The provider must keep a record of these transactions. Do not count this as income for the family.
In all other situations, when a family does not pay the required copayment, the family is ineligible for child care assistance until:
· The family continues to comply with the payment agreement.
Note: Some providers apply the amount paid by the family to the oldest fees or to the amount that is more than the county maximum rate. In these cases, the provider considers the copayment not to have been paid and may indicate this on the billing voucher. Consider the family to have paid the copaymentif the family or provider is able to document that an amount has been paid that is equal to or greater than their copayment.
For the copayment schedules, select the applicable time period:
Contact your agency’s CCAP Policy Specialist at the Minnesota Department of Human Services for previous copayment schedules.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.125, subd. 4
Minnesota Statutes 119B.12
Minnesota Rules 3400.0100