After an application or redetermination has been approved, a family enters a 12 month eligibility period. During this period, limited factors can negatively impact a family’s case. The purpose of the eligibility period is to provide for stable, consistent child care arrangements for children in the family. See Chapter 8 (12 month eligibility period).
A county social services agency or a public or non-profit agency designated by the county board to administer the child care fund.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 4)
Costs associated with the administration of direct services covered by the child care fund. These include:
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 5)
Infant (see INFANT)
Preschool (see PRESCHOOL)
School Age (see SCHOOL AGE)
Toddler (See TODDLER)
The share of the total state appropriation of child care funds that a county may earn and be reimbursed for in a calendar year. Department of Human Services (DHS) may increase a county’s allocation by redirecting unexpended or unencumbered funds, or when additional funds become available. DHS may decrease a county’s allocation proportionate to the reduction in the total allocation when funding decreases are implemented within a calendar year.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 8)
All parents, stepparents, legal guardians or eligible relative caregivers who are members of the FAMILY and reside in the household that applies for child care assistance.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 2)
Environmental or familial factors that create barriers to a child’s optimal achievement. Factors include, but are not limited to, a federal or state disaster, Limited English Proficiency (LEP) in a family, a history of abuse or neglect, family violence, homelessness, age of the mother, level of maternal education, mental illness, developmental disability, or parental chemical dependency or history of other substance abuse. See Chapter 9.15.15 (Special needs).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 9a)
A legal child care provider who has completed the county registration process, required training and has been approved for child care assistance payments. See Chapter 11 (Providers).
The number of hours in a service period, not to exceed the maximum hour limit established in MN Statutes 119B.09, subd. 6, that may be paid for child care for a child. See definition for Scheduled Hours.
(Legal Authority: MN Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 10a)
A sub-program of the Child Care Assistance Program for non-Minnesota Family Investment Program/Diversionary Work Program (MFIP/DWP) families with entrance income below or equal to 47% of the State Median Income (SMI). See Chapter 4.3.12 (Basic Sliding Fee (BSF)).
See basic sliding fee program.
A period that begins with the 1st day of the month and ends with the last day of the month.
Public assistance including income from the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), Diversionary Work Program (DWP), Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA), General Assistance (GA), Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd.15)
Child Care Assistance Program.
A person 12 years old or younger, or age 13 or 14 who has a hearing impairment, visual disability, speech or language impairment, physical handicap, other health impairment, mental handicap, emotional/behavioral disorder, specific learning disability, autism, traumatic brain injury, multiple disabilities, or deaf/blind disability which requires special instruction and services.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 4)
Care of a child by someone other than a parent, stepparent, legal guardian, eligible relative caregiver or their spouses in or outside the child’s own home.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 5)
The amount the family must contribute as its share of child care costs. This amount is based on household income and size.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 24)
A county, tribe, and the designated administering agency shall submit a biennial plan to the commissioner of DHS. The plan shall include information requested by the department to ensure compliance with the child care fund statutes and rules, and allows agencies to establish some local policies and procedures.
The board of county commissioners in each county.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 9)
A functional limitation or health condition that interferes with a child’s ability to walk, talk, see, hear, breathe or learn in order to meet the conditions required for an increased rate. See Chapter 9.15.15 (Special needs).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 17a)
Diversionary Work Program. See Chapter 184.108.40.206 (DWP Overview).
The date the agency receives all documentation necessary to calculate a claim. See Chapter 14.6 (Amount of Overpayment).
A written statement or record, including an electronic record, that substantiates information provided by a person or an action taken by an agency.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 18)
Cash or in-kind income earned through the receipt of wages, salary, commissions, bonuses, tips, gratuities, profit from employment activities, net profit from self-employment activities, payments made by an employer for regularly accrued vacation or sick leave, severance pay based on accrued leave time, payments from training programs at a rate at or greater than the state’s minimum wage, royalties, honoraria, or other profit from activity that results from the client’s work, service, effort, or labor.
See also INCOME.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statute 256P.01, Subd. 3)
eDocs is a web site that gives access to the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) forms and documents in multiple languages.
Remedial or basic education or English as a second language instruction, a program leading to a general equivalency or high school diploma, post-secondary programs excluding post-baccalaureate programs, and other education and training needs as documented in an Education Plan. The Education Plan must outline education and training needs of a participant, and meet state and county requirements for education plans.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 11)
A person who is the caregiver of a child receiving an MFIP child only grant OR the caregiver is a person receiving an MFIP or DWP grant that includes the child. See Chapter 5.3 (Determining the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Family), Chapter 5.9 (CCAP Family Composition Examples).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 256J.08; Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 20)
An Employment Plan (EP) is developed by the job counselor and the participant which identifies the participant's most direct path to unsubsidized employment, lists the specific steps that the participant will take on that path, and includes a timetable for the completion of each step. The plan also identifies any subsequent steps that support long-term economic stability.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes, 256J.49, Subd. 5 )
The date the agency computes an overpayment. See Chapter 14.6 (Amount of Overpayment).
A type of living arrangement which affects the determination of state residence and the county of financial responsibility. Examples include, but are not limited to, halfway house, foster home, battered women’s shelter, or rehabilitation facility. See Chapter 8.12.1 (Excluded Time Facilities).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 256G.02; Minnesota Statutes 256G.03)
A period of up to three months of continued eligibility for families following the permanent end to their education or employment activity or when a new PRI without an activity joins the family. During this period, child care authorization continues at the previously approved amount. See Chapter 9.15.6 (Extended Eligibility).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.105)
The Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) defines a family as parents, step-parents, guardians and their spouses, or other eligible relative caregivers and their spouses, and their blood related dependent children and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 years living in the same home including children temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, foster care, and residential treatment facilities, or parents, step-parents, guardians and their spouses, or other relative caregivers and their spouses temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, military service, or rehabilitation programs. An adult family member who is not in an authorized activity under this chapter may be temporarily absent for up to 60 days. When a minor parent or parents and his, her, or their child or children are living with other relatives, and the minor parent or parents apply for a child care subsidy, "family" means only the minor parent or parents and their child or children. An adult age 18 or older who meets this definition of family and is a full-time high school or postsecondary student may be considered a dependent member of the family unit if 50 percent or more of the adult's support is provided by the parents, stepparents, guardians, and their spouses or eligible relative caregivers and their spouses residing in the same household. The term “spouse” includes married same-sex spouses. For information on how to determine CCAP Family, see Chapter 5.3 (Determining the CCAP Family).
The Family Subsidy Program, also known as the Family Support Grant Program, is a state-funded program that provides cash grants to families with children with disabilities who live, or will live, in their family home. The grants provide families with the flexibility to purchase an array of supports and services to meet specific needs.
The goal of the Family Subsidy Program is to prevent or delay the out-of-home placement of children with disabilities and to promote family health and social well-being by enabling access to family-centered services and supports.
For additional information about the Family Subsidy Program families may either:
Federal Insurance Contribution Act. Social Security withholding tax.
From the first day of the month through the last day of the month.
The CCAP family as defined in Chapter 5.3 (Determining the CCAP Family).
The provider and those people living with the provider or in the home during child care hours.
Counted earned or unearned income, including public assistance cash benefits, received by the family. See Chapter 6 (Income Eligibility).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd.15)
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 245A.02, Subd.19; Minnesota Rules 9503.0005; Minnesota Rules 9503.0040)
Care provided in the child’s own home.
Information about a family’s circumstances that the county agency receives from the family or discovers from sources such as MAXIS, PRISM, or MMIS.
For the purposes of this determination, the county agency includes the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the county human service agency(s) responsible for the administration of the child care, cash, food, and health care programs. It also includes any agency(s) that contracts with the human service agency(s) for the delivery of financial, health care, child care programs, and employment services.
A person or an agency that has been appointed or accepted as guardian by a court of jurisdiction or tribal law.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 31b)
A legal nonlicensed provider who cares for children related to the provider and does not care for any children receiving child care assistance who are not related to the provider. Related mean the provider is the sibling, grandparent, aunt, or uncle of the child, based on a blood relationship, marriage, or court decree.
A legal nonlicensed provider who provides care for at least one child receiving child care assistance who is not related to the provider. Related mean the provider is the sibling, grandparent, aunt, or uncle of the child, based on a blood relationship, marriage, or court decree.
Cash received on a non-recurring or irregular basis that cannot be reasonably anticipated. Examples of lump sums include child support arrears, an inheritance, an insurance payment, and gambling winnings. See Chapter 6.15.15 (Annualizing Lump Sum Income).
Minnesota's statewide automated eligibility system for public assistance programs.
Minnesota Electronic Child Care System.
Minnesota Family Investment Program. See Chapter 220.127.116.11 (MFIP Overview).
A sub-program of the Child Care Assistance Program for families receiving MFIP or DWP. See Chapter 18.104.22.168. (MFIP Overview).
Child care assistance for student parents under age 21, pursuing a high school or general equivalency diploma, who are not MFIP participants, and who reside in a county with a Basic Sliding Fee waiting list. See Chapter 4.3.15 (MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents).
A child who is living in the same home of a parent or other caregiver, is not the parent of a child in the home, and who is one of the following:
See Chapter 6.6.1 (Individuals Exempt from Earned Income).
A parent who is less than 18 years of age.
See Chapter 6.6.1 (Individuals Exempt from Earned Income).
The portion of a child care payment that is greater than the amount for which a participant or provider is eligible.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 33)
A child's biological, step, or adoptive mother or father.
All parents, stepparents, legal guardians, or eligible relative caregivers and their spouses who are members of the FAMILY and reside in the household that applies for child care assistance. See APPLICANT and FAMILY.
Preschool/School age category changes; in August of each year, MEC² will complete the annual school age change batch. This process changes the Age Category for children who have reached the appropriate age to start kindergarten in the fall and who have a kindergarten start date entered on the child’s school window. Without a date entered in that field, the age change cannot occur and the child will remain in the preschool age category when they should be changed to school age. Please refer to Chapter 9.24.6 (Age category exceptions).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 245A.02, Subd.19; Minnesota Rules 9503.0005)
Individuals or centers licensed by a state or tribe, license-exempt centers, and legal non-licensed individuals providing legal child care services. For more information, see Chapter 11 (Providers).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 19)
The amount the provider charges for child care.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 35)
The reduction of child care assistance payments to an eligible family or a child care provider in order to correct an overpayment of child care assistance.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 21)
The process by which information is collected by the county and used to determine whether a recipient is eligible for continued assistance and the amount of care to be authorized under the child care fund. See Chapter 10 (Redetermination of Eligibility).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 37)
The process used by a county to determine whether the provider selected by a family applying for or receiving child care assistance to care for that family’s children meets the necessary requirements for payment of CCAP for child care provided by that provider.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0120, Subp. 2; Minnesota Statutes. 119B.011, Subd. 19a)
See TEMPORARY INELIGIBILITY.
The primary place where the family lives as identified by the applicant or participant.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 38a)
See RETIREMENT, SURVIVORS, AND DISABILITY INSURANCE.
A program operated by the Social Security Administration that provides a monthly income to retired people, survivors or dependents of insured people, and people with disabilities.
The specific days and hours during a service period that a child will attend child care as determined by the child care worker, the parent and the provider based on the parents verified eligible activity schedules, the child’s school schedule, and any other factors relevant to the families child care needs.
(Legal Authority: MN Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 38b)
See EDUCATION PROGRAM.
Note: Education programs do not need to be part of an approved Education Plan or MFIP Employment Plan to be considered “school” for the purposes of determining student status for exempt individuals.
See Chapter 6.6.1 (Individuals Exempt from Earned Income).
**CCAP recommends that counties consider a child to be school age (for payment purposes) on September 1st following the child’s 5th birthday unless the parent informs the county that the child will not be starting school in September of that year. In this case, the child would not be school age until September 1st of the following year. If a child starts school before the child’s 5th birthday, the child is considered school age on the day the child starts school. See Chapter 9.24.6 (Age category exceptions).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statues 245A.02, Subd. 19; Minnesota Rules 9503.0005)
State Median Income.
See SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME.
A person enrolled in an educational program. See EDUCATION PROGRAM and EMPLOYMENT PLAN.
A program operated by the Social Security Administration that provides monthly income to low income people who are AGED, BLIND, or have a DISABILITY.
The family remains eligible up to 1 year if there are temporary breaks when child care assistance is not needed. See Chapter 8.9 (Suspending).
A period of time a family member is physically absent from the family’s residence but still included in the household size as he/she intends to return to the residence. See Chapter 5.6 (CCAP Family – Temporary Absence).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Rules 3400.0020, Subp. 40a)
When a family has been receiving child care assistance and a change makes them ineligible and the ineligibility is believed to be temporary, the family’s position in CCAP should be reserved. The case remains active for a maximum of 90 days, one academic semester/quarter, or until deactivated from military service (if a family had been receiving child care assistance but increased income from active military service made them ineligible). Payments cannot be made while a family is temporarily ineligible. See Chapter 8.6 (Temporary Ineligibility).
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.09, Subd. 4a; Minnesota Rules 3400.0040, Subp. 17)
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 245A.02, Subd. 19; Minnesota Rules 9503.0005; Minnesota Rules 9503.0040)Transition Year child care
Child care assistance used to support employment, education or job search for families who have received MFIP assistance or who were eligible to receive MFIP assistance after choosing to discontinue receipt of the cash portion of MFIP assistance or who have received DWP assistance for at least 3 of the last 6 months before losing eligibility for MFIP or DWP. Transition year child care is not available to families who have been disqualified from MFIP or DWP due to fraud.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 20)
Child care assistance used to support employment, education or job search for families who have completed their transition year of child care assistance and who are eligible for, but on a waiting list for, basic sliding fee services, for the duration of time necessary for the families to be moved from the basic sliding fee waiting list into the basic sliding fee program.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 20a)
See also INCOME.
(Legal Authority: Minnesota Statutes 256P.01, Subd. 8)
The two full calendar month period when a county remains financially responsible for child care assistance benefits after a participant moves from that one county to another county.Report/Rate this page