The following providers are NOT eligible to receive child care subsidies for their own children or children in their family during the hours they are providing child care or being paid to provide child care:
These providers are eligible to receive child care assistance for their children when they are engaged in other authorized activities, as long as the hours do not overlap with the hours they provide care or with the hours they are being paid to provide care. This includes the full 10 hours counted when care is provided by a licensed family child care provider for more than five hours.
This does not apply to licensed or license exempt child care centers and their employees.
No more than 25 center employees’ children or dependents can be authorized for CCAP per child care center.
For the purposes of this policy, “child or dependent” means the center employee is the child’s birth or adoptive parent, stepparent, legal guardian, or Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) or Diversionary Work Program (DWP) caregiver. “Center employee” means any person who works in or for the center, including paid or unpaid staff and contract or temporary employees.
Prior to authorizing care for any center employees’ children, generate the MEC² report PV107, CCAP Center Employee Report, to determine how many children of center employees are currently authorized. If the number of employees’ children authorized is over 25, deny the family’s authorization using the “Authorization Denied” reason code. Do not open new authorizations for additional employees’ children until the number of employees’ children authorized falls below 25.
If additional Service Authorizations are approved in error when a center already has 25 or more employees’ children authorized, do not take action to close the Service Authorizations.
If a child is authorized at a child care center where their parent does not work, but the parent later becomes employed at the center, review the PV107 report. If they center is authorized for 25 or more center employees’ children, close the child’s Service Authorization with a 15-day notice. Take the same action to close the child’s Service Authorization if the parent was authorized for job search and/or education, and they later became employed at the center where their child was authorized.
If at least one parent works at a DHS licensed child care center, CCAP considers the family a Schedule Reporter. If taking a leave of absence, parents who are center employees must:
Child care centers do not have a statutory right to appeal an adverse action taken as a result of the center employee law. A family may file an appeal if they disagree with an agency’s action to enforce the center employee law.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.09, subds. 9 and 9a
Minnesota Statutes 119B.16, subd. 1aReport/Rate this page