When the family remains eligible for child care assistance, recoup the overpayment by reducing the amount of assistance paid at the following rates:
· If the overpayment is due to agency or provider error, recoup the greater of one-fourth of the family’s copayment, or $10.
· If the overpayment is due to the family’s first failure to report changes, recoup the greater of one half of the family’s copayment, or $10.
· If the overpayment is due to the family’s failure to provide accurate information at application or redetermination or the family’s second or subsequent failure to report changes, recoup the greater of one half of the family’s copayment, or $50.
· When the overpayment is due to wrongfully obtaining public assistance as established by court conviction, court-ordered stay of conviction with probationary or other terms, a disqualification agreement, a pretrial diversion, or an administrative disqualification hearing or waiver, recoup the greater of the family’s copayment, 10 percent of the overpayment, or $100.
The overpayments must be calculated and collected on a service period basis. The family is responsible for the cost of care that is related to the reduction of the payment.
If an ineligible family later reapplies for child care assistance and is determined eligible, begin recouping the overpayment following the above rates, unless a different repayment schedule has been specified in a court order.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 21
Report/Rate this page
Minnesota Statutes 119B.11, Subd. 2
Minnesota Rules 3400.0140, Subp.19
Minnesota Rules 3400.0187