Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

9.1.6 Authorizing Care- Flexible Schedules

ISSUE DATE: 10/2013

Child care may be authorized for families who have flexible schedules. Do NOT authorize of pay for more than 120 hours of child care assistance per child every 2 weeks.

Describe how child care is authorized in case notes.

When authorizing child care for families with flexible schedules, it is important that there be communication between families, providers, case workers and billing workers. For example, the comment section on a service authorization, a special memo or conversations (with case notes to document) between parents, providers and staff are recommended methods to communicate how care is authorized in relationship to the expected schedule(s).

See Chapter 7.27 (Schedule Verification – Employment and Education) for information about obtaining schedule verification for clients with flexible employment schedules.

Depending on the method used to authorize child care, provider may be able to be paid for more or less child care than has been authorized in the Service Authorization.

There are three acceptable methods to authorize child care for families with flexible schedules:

1

Authorize the typical number of hours needed. When the family’s schedule requires additional care; the provider bills for the additional care. Payment can be made by increasing the number of hours listed in the “Total Hours of Care Authorized” field on the Billing window or by creating a new Service Authorization with additional hours. This method is recommended for families with a set schedule that occasionally requires them to work additional hours. Case note the method used.

OR

2

Authorize the minimum number of hours care is needed. When the family’s schedule requires additional care; the provider bills for the additional care. Payment can be made by increasing the number of hours listed in the “Total Hours of Care Authorized” field on the Billing window or by creating a new Service Authorization with additional hours. This method may be used for families whose schedules require them to work a varying number of hours each week. Providers must be informed that they may bill for additional hours when the family needs more care than what has been authorized. Counties should develop communication strategies to ensure that appropriate payments are made when additional hours are billed. Case note the method used.

OR

3

Authorize the highest number of hours that care is needed with the provider. The provider is expected to bill only for the time that care is needed. This method may be used for families whose schedules require them to work a varying number of hours each week. Providers must be informed that they should be bill for fewer hours when the family needs less care than what has been authorized. Counties should develop strategies to ensure that appropriate payments are made. Case workers are encouraged to periodically review provider billing to reduce the likelihood of overpayments in these situations. Case note the method used.



LEGAL AUTHORITY

Minnesota Statutes 119B.09, Subd. 6
Minnesota Rules 3400.0110, Subp. 2a
Minnesota Rules 3400.0040, Subp. 8

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 1/14/14 11:49 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 1/14/14 11:49 AM