Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

8.1.15 Changes in Residence

ISSUE DATE: 02/2018

Moving within your county

Household impacts

Update the family’s address in MEC². Verification of the move is not required until the family’s next redetermination.

Authorization impacts

Most within county moves will not impact an authorization unless other factors have changed, such as a change in activity or provider.

Moving to a different county

Household impacts

Update the family’s address in MEC². For additional policy guidance, see Chapter 8.12 (Moving between counties).

Authorization impacts

Verification of the move is required by the new county before they can issue a Service Authorization.

Moving out of Minnesota

Household impacts

  • · If verified, update the family’s address in MEC² and approve the ineligible results generated.
  • · If not verified, request verification following guidance in Chapter 7.4 (Verification – 12 month eligibility period). If the family does not return requested verification, update the family’s address in MEC² and approve the ineligible results generated.
  • Authorization impacts

    If the family is still using the child care provider, do not end the Service Authorization until the case closes. If the family reports that they are no longer using the child care provider, end the Service Authorization with a 15-day adverse action notice.

    Returned mail with no forwarding address

    Knowing a family’s address is important for case maintenance. If a CCAP family’s mail has been returned to the CCAP agency and there is no forwarding address, take the following steps:

  • 1. Do not update the Address window. Follow up with a phone call to the family.
  • 2. If you connect with the family and they have a new address within your county, update the Address window in MEC² with the new address. Verification of the move is not required until the family’s next redetermination.
  • 3. If you connect with the family and they have a new address in a different county, start the move transfer process. Verification of the move is required by the new county before they can issue a new Service Authorization.
  • If you do not connect with the family, end the Service Authorization with a 15-day adverse action notice. On the Service Authorization to the family and provider, add a comment explaining the family must contact their CCAP worker.

    Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.025

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 2/8/18 8:42 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 2/8/18 8:42 AM