Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

12.1 15-Day Notice Requirements

ISSUE DATE: 12/2015

Child Care Assistance Program requires a 15-day notice for adverse actions except when:

A Minnesota licensed provider’s license has been temporarily immediately suspended.

There is imminent risk of harm to the health, safety, or rights of a child in the care of a legal nonlicensed provider, license exempt center, or a provider licensed by an entity other than the State of Minnesota.

MEC2 uses the following rules to calculate the 15-day notice period:

The 1st day of the 15-day notice period is the day after the day the notice leaves IOC.

Mail is only sent on work days and will not be sent on Saturdays, Sundays or holidays.

The 15th day cannot fall on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday. If it does, continue counting after the Saturday, Sunday or holiday. These rules are built into the 15-day Notice logic on the MEC² system.

Examples:

1.

No holiday or weekend – Worker approves adverse action on the case on Monday. The notice will be printed Monday night and mailed on Tuesday. The 1st day to start the 15-day count is Wednesday. Count 15 days, beginning with Wednesday as the 1st day. The 15th day would be Wednesday.

2.

2. Holiday – Worker approves adverse action on the case on Monday. The notice will be printed Monday night. However, Tuesday is a holiday so the notice will not be mailed until Wednesday. The 1st day to start the 15-day count is Thursday. Counting 15 days from Thursday would be another Thursday. Thursday is a holiday, so the 15th day would be Friday.

Weekend – Worker approves adverse action on the case on Friday. The notice will be printed Friday night, but the notice will not be mailed until Monday, so the 1st day to start the 15-day count would be Tuesday. Counting 15 days from Tuesday would be another Tuesday. This would be the last day of the notice period.

3.

MEC2 uses the State and Federal holiday schedules listed below for dates the system IS NOT available to process cases, send out notices, and determine non-mail delivery dates.

Federal Holidays:

State Holidays:

New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Jr Day
President’s Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Columbus Day
Veteran’s Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Jr Day
President’s Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Veteran’s Day
Thanksgiving Day
Friday after Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day


LEGAL AUTHORITY

Minnesota Statutes 645.15
Minnesota Statutes 645.44, Subd. 5
Minnesota Rules 3400.0185
Minnesota Rules 3400.0040, Subp. 4

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 12/24/15 11:20 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 12/24/15 11:20 AM