Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

7.1 Verification Due Dates

ISSUE DATE: 10/2017

In general, allow families 15 days to provide verification. When the last day of the 15-day verification request period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, extend the time period to the next working day.

Verification due dates during application

Allow families 15 days to provide verification. Use the MEC2 Special Letter: Verification Request to request verification. If families submit verification after the 15 day window but the application has not been processed yet, the information can be used to process the application.

Verification due dates during the 12 month eligibility period

For changes that require verification during the eligibility period to continue authorizing child care or determine on-going eligibility, allow families 15 days to provide verification. Use the MEC2 Special Letter: Verification Request to request verification. For more on what changes must be verified during the 12 month eligibility period, see Chapter 7.4 (Verification – 12 Month Eligibility Period).

If a family fails to provide a required verification by the specified due date, issue a 15-day notice of adverse action. The 15-day verification request period and the 15-day notice of adverse action cannot overlap each other.

Verification due dates at redetermination

When additional verifications are requested at redetermination, use the MEC² Special Letter: Verification Request.

Allow families 15 days to provide verification or until the last day of the 30 day reinstatement period, whichever is earlier.

  • · If the case is open, give the family 15 days to return verifications.
  • · If the case has closed, give the family until the last day of the 30 day reinstatement period to return verifications. When the 30th calendar day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 30-day time period is extended to the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
  • Note: If the redetermination form and all required eligibility verifications are not received and processed by the last day of the redetermination period, close the case with a 15-day notice of adverse action. If a complete redetermination form and all required verifications are received within 30 days after the case closes, see Chapter 10.6.6. (Redetermination processing – Reinstatement).

    See Chapters 10.6 (Redetermination process) and 10.6.3 (Redetermination processing standards).

    Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.025

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 10/16/17 2:41 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 10/16/17 2:41 PM