Make payments to providers, unless the provider cares for children in the children’s own home. Care provided in the child’s home must be approved by DHS. Payment must be made directly to the family when care is provided in the child’s home. This applies whether the provider is licensed or legal nonlicensed. See Chapter 9.6 (Payments to families).
Pay the provider (or parent, if care in the home is approved) after the provider is authorized by the county or tribe, retroactive to the later of the date that:
If a provider has received an authorization of care and been issued a billing form for an eligible family, the billing form must be submitted within 60 days of the last date of service on the bill. You may pay a bill submitted more than 60 days from the last date of service (but less than one year) if the provider shows good cause for the delay. Good cause is defined in your County and Tribal Child Care Fund Plan, and it must include agencyerror.
If a provider provided care for a time period without receiving a Service Authorization and a billing form for an eligible family, payment may only be made retroactively for a maximum of six months from the date the provider is issued a Service Authorization and billing form.
Do NOT pay a bill submitted more than a year after the last date of service on the bill.
Do NOT require participants to pay providers in advance of receiving payment from the child care fund as a condition for receiving child care assistance.
County and tribal agencies that opt to do so in their County and Tribal Child Care Fund Plan or DHS may end a provider’s authorization, stop payment issued to a provider, or refuse to pay a bill submitted by the provider if the provider violates one or more of the following clauses:
For clauses 3, 5, and 6, the agency may withhold a provider’s authorization or payment for a period of time not to exceed three months beyond the time that the condition above has been corrected.
Notify your policy specialist at least 10 days prior to closing a provider’s registration or taking any other action to enforce any of these policies, except clause 4.
Agencies must amend their County and Tribal Child Care Fund Plan prior to implementation.
To amend your County and Tribal Child Care Fund Plan to implement these policies, complete the Child Care Assistance Program County and Tribal Child Care Plan Amendment DHS-5107A (PDF) and submit it to DHS for approval.
Receipt of federal, state or local funds by a child care provider either directly or through a child care assistance recipient does NOT establish an employee-employer relationship between the provider and the county or state.
Minnesota Statutes 119B.09
Minnesota Statutes 119B.13
Minnesota Rules 3400.0110
Minnesota Rules 3400.0185
Minnesota Statutes 119.125