Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
Advanced Search|  

14.9.9 Recoupment - Providers

ISSUE DATE: 05/2009

If the provider continues to receive child care assistance payments, the county must recoup the overpayment by reducing the amount of assistance paid to the provider for every payment at the rates indicated below until the overpayment debt is paid in full.

When a provider has an overpayment due to agency or family error, the recoupment amount is one-tenth the provider's payment or $20, whichever is greater.

When a provider has an overpayment due to the provider's failure to provide accurate information, the recoupment amount is one-fourth the provider's payment or $50, whichever is greater.

When a provider has an overpayment due to wrongfully obtaining child care assistance as established by a court conviction, a court-ordered stay of conviction with probationary or other terms, a disqualification agreement, a pretrial diversion, or an administrative disqualification hearing or waiver, the recoupment amount equals the greater of:

-

One-half the provider's payment.

OR

-

10 percent of the overpayment.

OR

-

$100.

If the provider no longer cares for children receiving child care assistance, follow the instructions in Chapter 14.9 (Recovery Methods). If the provider later resumes caring for children receiving child care assistance, begin recouping the overpayment following the above rates, unless a different repayment schedule has been specified in a court order.

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, Subd. 21
Minnesota Statutes 119B.11, Subd. 2A
Minnesota Statutes 256.98, Subd. 1
Minnesota Rules 3400.0140, Subp.19
Minnesota Rules 3400.0187

Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

© 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 8/28/15 2:49 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 8/28/15 2:49 PM